UBorrow allows you to request materials directly from participating libraries within Florida’s state university and college systems. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the collections of the other universities and colleges in Florida and delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan Services at the Florida State University Libraries is powered by ILLiad – an Inter Library Loan Internet Access Database – that allows you to request, track, and receive materials such as books, articles, and current year publications seamlessly via your ILLiad account.
WorldCat is a massive catalog that contains citations to millions of items from library collections located across the globe. You can use this resource to gather the bibliographic information you need to request items via Interlibrary Loan.
Fukushima and the arts : negotiating nuclear disaster by Barbara Geilhorn and Kristina Iwata-WeickgenanntThe natural and man-made cataclysmic events of the 11 March 2011 disaster, or 3.11, have dramatically altered the status quo of contemporary Japanese society. While much has been written about the social, political, economic, and technical aspects of the disaster, this volume represents one of the first in-depth explorations of the cultural responses to the devastating tsunami, and in particular the ongoing nuclear disaster of Fukushima. This book explores a wide range of cultural responses to the Fukushima nuclear calamity by analyzing examples from literature, poetry, manga, theatre, art photography, documentary and fiction film, and popular music. Individual chapters examine the changing positionality of post-3.11 northeastern Japan and the fear-driven conflation of time and space in near-but-far urban centers; explore the political subversion and nostalgia surrounding the Fukushima disaster; expose the ambiguous effects of highly gendered representations of fear of nuclear threat; analyze the musical and poetic responses to disaster; and explore the political potentialities of theatrical performances. By scrutinizing various media narratives and taking into account national and local perspectives, the book sheds light on cultural texts of power, politics, and space. Providing an insight into the post-disaster Zeitgeist as expressed through a variety of media genres, this book will be of interest to students and scholars of Japanese Studies, Japanese Culture, Popular Culture, and Literature Studies.
Call Number: FSU Electronic Resource
Gestures of seeing in film, video and drawing by Asbjrn Grnstad, Henrik Gustafsson and yvind VagnesThe first book of its kind, Gestures of Seeing in Film, Video and Drawing engages broadly with the often too neglected yet significant questions of gesture in visual culture. In our turbulent mediasphere where images - as lenses bearing on their own circumstances - are constantly mobilized to enact symbolic forms of warfare and where they get entangled in all kinds of cultural conflicts and controversies, a turn to the gestural life of images seems to promise a particularly pertinent avenue of intellectual inquiry. The complex gestures of the artwork remain an under-explored theoretical topos in contemporary visual culture studies. In visual art, the gestural appears to be that which intervenes between form and content, materiality and meaning. But as a conceptual force it also impinges upon the very process of seeing itself. As a critical and heuristic trope, the gestural galvanizes many of the most pertinent areas of inquiry in contemporary debates and scholarship in visual culture and related disciplines: ethics (images and their values and affects), aesthetics (from visual essentialism to transesthetics and synesthesia), ecology (iconoclastic gestures and spaces of conflict), and epistemology (questions of the archive, memory and documentation). Offering fresh perspectives on many of these areas,　Gestures of Seeing in Film, Video and Drawingwill be intensely awaited by readers from and across several disciplines, such as anthropology, linguistics, performance, theater, film and visual studies.
Youth culture in Chinese language film by Xuelin ZhouThis book explores the vigorous film cultures of mainland China, Taiwan and Hong Kong from the perspective of youth culture. The book relates this important topic to the wider social, cultural, and institutional context, and discusses the relationship between the films and the changes that today are transforming each society. Among the areas explored are the differences between the three film industries, their creation of new types of screen hero and heroine, and their conflicts with traditional Chinese attitudes such as respect for age. The many films discussed provide fresh perspectives on the ways in which young people are coping with gender, sexuality, class, coming of age, the pressures of education, and major social shifts such as rural to urban migration. They show young adults in each society striving to construct new value systems for a complex, rapidly changing environment.
Call Number: FSU Electronic Resource
Arts, pedagogy and cultural resistance : new materialisms by Anna Hickey-Moody and Tara PageArts, Pedagogy and Cultural Resistance brings cultural studies perspectives to bear on Arts practices. Each contribution synthesizes creative approaches to philosophy and new materialist understanding of practice to show how human-nonhuman interaction at the core of Arts practice is a critical post human pedagogy. Across fine art, dance, gallery education, film and philosophy, the book contends that certain kinds of Arts practice can be a critical pedagogy in which tactical engagements with community, space, place and materiality become means of not only disrupting dominant discourse but also of making new discourses come to matter. It demonstrates how embodied, located acts of making can materially disrupt cultural hegemony and suggest different ways the world might materialize. It argues that the practice of Arts making is a post human cultural pedagogy in which people become part of a broader assemblage of matter, and all aspects of this network are solidified in objects or processes that are themselves pedagogical. In doing so the book offers a fresh and theoretically engaged perspective on arts as pedagogy."
Byronic heroes in nineteenth-century women's writing and screen adaptation by Sarah WoottonByronic Heroes in Nineteenth-Century Women's Writing and Screen Adaptation charts a new chapter in the changing fortunes of a unique cultural phenomenon. This book examines the afterlives of the Byronic hero through the work of nineteenth-century women writers and screen adaptations of their fiction. It is a timely reassessment of Byron's enduring legacy during the nineteenth century and beyond, focusing on the charged and unstable literary dialogues between Jane Austen, Elizabeth Gaskell,George Eliot and a Romantic icon whose presence takes centre stage in recent screen adaptations of their most celebrated novels. The broad interdisciplinary lens employed in this book concentrates on the conflicted rewritings of Byron's poetry, his 'heroic' protagonists, and the cult of Byronism in nineteenth-century novels from Pride and Prejudice to Middlemarch, and extends outwards to the reappearance of Byronic heroes on film and in television series over the last two decades.
Creating Carmen Miranda : race, camp, and transnational stardom by Kathryn Bishop-SanchezCarmen Miranda got knocked down and kept going. Filming an appearance on The Jimmy Durante Show on August 4, 1955, the "ambassadress of samba" suddenly took a knee during a dance number, clearly in distress. Durante covered without missing a beat, and Miranda was back on her feet in a matter of moments to continue with what she did best: performing. By the next morning, she was dead from heart failure at age 46. This final performance in many ways exemplified the power of Carmen Miranda. The actress, singer, and dancer pursued a relentless mission to demonstrate the provocative theatrical force of her cultural roots in Brazil. Armed with bare-midriff dresses, platform shoes, and her iconic fruit-basket headdresses, Miranda stole the show in films like That Night in Rio and The Gang's All Here. For American film audiences, her life was an example of the exoticism of a mysterious, sensual South America. For Brazilian and Latin American audiences, she was an icon. For the gay community, she became a work of art personified and a symbol of courage and charisma. In Creating Carmen Miranda, Kathryn Bishop-Sanchez takes the reader through the myriad methods Miranda consciously used to shape her performance of race, gender, and camp culture, all to further her journey down the road to becoming a legend.
Culture on two wheels : the bicycle in literature and film by Jeremy Withers and Daniel P. SheaBicycles have more cultural identities than many realize, functioning not only as literal vehicles in a text but also as "vehicles" for that text's themes, ideas, and critiques. In the late nineteenth century the bicycle was seen as a way for the wealthy urban elite to reconnect with nature and for women to gain a measure of personal freedom, while during World War II it became a utilitarian tool of the French Resistance and in 1970s China stood for wealth and modernization. Lately it has functioned variously as the favored ideological steed of environmentalists, a means of community bonding and aesthetic self-expression in hip hop, and the ride of choice for bike messenger-idolizing urban hipsters. Culture on Two Wheels analyzes the shifting cultural significance of the bicycle by examining its appearances in literary, musical, and cinematic works spanning three continents and more than 125 years of history. Bringing together essays by a variety of cyclists and scholars with myriad angles of approach, this collection highlights the bicycle's flexibility as a signifier and analyzes the appearance of bicycles in canonical and well-known texts such as Samuel Beckett's modernist novel Molloy, the Oscar-winning film Breaking Away, and various Stephen King novels and stories, as well as in lesser-known but equally significant texts, such as the celebrated Russian director Andrei Tarkovsky's film Sacrifice and Elizabeth Robins Pennell's nineteenth-century travelogue A Canterbury Pilgrimage, the latter of which traces the route of Chaucer's pilgrims via bicycle.
Dislocated screen memory : narrating trauma in post-Yugoslav cinema by Dijana JelaaThe links between cinema and war machines have long been established. At the same time, cinema represents an often overlooked yet crucial channel of tackling the difficult themes of post-traumatic memory. This book explores the range, form, and valences of trauma narratives that permeate the most notable narrative films about the breakup of Yugoslavia. It examines how film plays a part in coming to terms with the traumatic effects that wars have on communities by way of forming an archive of publically circulated, mass-mediated cultural memories.
This is a listing of select titles about film in our reference collection. Here you will find many dictionaries and encyclopedias relating to film.
For a complete list of our holdings, visit the reference collection (located in the Scholars Commons in Strozier Library) or search our online catalog.
The American Film Institute catalog of motion pictures produced in the United StatesThe American Film Institute Catalog has won great praise for its comprehensiveness, reliability, and utility. These volumes are an essential purchase for every library, and individual researchers will also find them indispensable. This newest AFI volume contains over 4,300 entries for feature-length films produced in the United States in the 1940s. The decade was an important and transitional one for filmmakers. Societal changes from the war years were reflected in films, and in the late 1940s the rise of television, the Hollywood blacklist, and the breakup of studio-owned theater chains greatly affected the number and types of films produced. Among films newly viewed for the book are such well-known classics as Citizen Kane, The Best Years of Our Lives, and Casablanca, along with less heralded films such as Fighting Men of the Plains and The Strange Death of Adolf Hitler. Entries include complete cast and crew credits, extensive plot summaries, and notes and sources for further study. A large accompanying volume provides access to the films through nine separate indexes, including personal and corporate names, subjects, and genres.
Blacks in black and white : a source book on Black films by Henry T. SampsonSince its publication in 1977 to acclaim as a pioneering work, this has remained the first and only book to detail all aspects of a unique era in the history of motion pictures the only time in the U.S. when films featuring an all-Black cast, produced and directed by Blacks, were shown primarily to Black audiences, in theatres many of which were owned and managed by Blacks. Sampson traces the history of the Black film industry from its beginnings around 1910 to its demise in 1950, chronicling the activities of pioneer Black filmmakers and performers who have been virtually ignored by film historians. Significantly more information on Oscar Micheaux and other Black producers of the period and descriptions of many more Black films are included in the second edition. A new chapter discusses the first black images in American film as portrayed by Whites in blackface. The list of film titles from both the sound and the silent periods, including members of the cast, has been greatly expanded. With an extensive list of Black musical "soundies;" full index; and many new and rare photographs."
Critical dictionary of film and television theory by Roberta E. Pearson and Philip SimpsonThis volume clearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms. Over the last three decades, the field of television and film studies has emerged from several related disciplines: literary studies; psychoanalysis; history and sociology among others. It is now established as a discipline in its own right with a complex and developed theoretical apparatus of its own. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminologies of screen studies. It offers beginning students an introductory map of the field and more experienced students and scholars a refresher course on the basic concepts. It features: over 400 entries; entries range from 500 to 3000 words and aim to give a context to the debate surrounding the term rather than a simplistic definition; includes suggestions for further reading; and is fully indexed; and cross-referenced. The dictionary is designed to be of optimum use to a range of potential users including students of communication, media, film and cultural studies, art, design and literature.
The encyclopedia of stage plays into film by John C. Tibbetts and James M. WelshFor years, stage plays have provided a rich source of inspiration for the film industry. Yet there hasn't been a book that has adequately addressed this artistic phenomenon -- until now. An excellent companion to Facts On File's The Encyclopedia of Novels Into Film, the volume opens with an introduction that traces the history of stage plays adapted for the silver screen. Each of the 300 entries is classified within one of three sections: Dramatic Adaptations, Shakespearean Adaptations, and Musical Adaptations. Each entry includes an overview of the stage play -- the title, playwright, plot summary, cast, production notes, critical acclaim -- along with an assessment of related film adaptations. Seventy-five black-and-white film stills and twenty-five line art portraits of select playwrights are included throughout the book. Informational appendixes include: -- "Backstage with the Bard": movies that have been inspired by or are connected to Shakespeare -- "Opera on Film": operas that have been adapted for the silver screen.
The encyclopedia of superheroes on film and television by John Kenneth MuirIt's a bird! It's a plane! It's a complete guide to over 50 years of superheroes on screen! This expanded and updated edition of the 2004 award-winning encyclopedia covers important developments in the popular genre; adds new shows such as Heroes and Zoom; includes the latest films featuring icons like Superman, Spiderman and Batman; and covers even more types of superheroes. Each entry includes a detailed history, cast and credits, episode and film descriptions, critical commentaries, and data on arch-villains, gadgets, comic-book origins and super powers, while placing each production into its historical context. Appendices list common superhero conventions and cliches; incarnations; memorable ad lines; and the best, worst, and most influential productions from 1951 to 2008.
Encyclopedia of the documentary film by Ian AitkenThe Encyclopedia of the Documentary Filmis a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' WorkersLeaving the Lumière Factory(1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911(2004). This Encyclopediaprovides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopediaexamine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.
Film noir : a comprehensive, illustrated reference to movies, terms, and persons by Michael L. StephensFilm noir is a uniquely American genre that has stylistic links to the German expressionist cinema of the 1920s and thematic links to the hard-boiled crime fiction that emerged in the 1930s. Generally the milieu is urban and middle class, and the overall feel is one of repression and fatalism. Whether shot in black and white or color, the style reinforces the overall feel.Films, directors, actors, producers, screenwriters, art directors, themes, plot devices and many other elements are contained in this encyclopedic reference work. Each movie entry includes full filmographic data (studio, running time, production and cast credits, and plot synopsis) along with an analysis of its place in the genre. Biographical entries focus on the person's role in noir and provide a complete filmography of their film noir work. Terms are placed in the context of the genre and relevant examples from films are given.
Film quotations : 11,000 lines spoken on screen, arranged by subject, and indexed by Robert A. Nowlan and Gwendolyn W. NowlanCertain lines define a movie. Marlene Dietrich in Morocco: Anyone who has faith in me is a sucker. Too, there are lines that fit actor and character. Mae West in I'm No Angel: I'm very quick in a slow way. Jane Fonda in California Suite: Fit? You think I look fit? What an awful shit you are. I look gorgeous.From the classics to the grade-B slasher movies, over 11,000 quotes are arranged by over 900 subjects, like accidents, double entendres, eyes (and other body parts!), ice cream, luggage, parasites, and ugliness. Each quote gives the movie title, production company, year of release, speaker of the line, and, when appropriate, a comment putting the quote in context.
Films by genre : 775 categories, styles, trends, and movements defined, with a filmography for each by Daniel LopezSince the early days of cinema, there has been an insatiable demand for new product. As the number of movies increased, many began to resemble each other and fall into certain types of genres. Critics, filmmakers, and audiences have classified films into groupings for critical appraisal, easy identification of the subject, or a quick clue to the film's nature.From abstract through erotic, from new Chinese cinema or zombie films, 775 genres are included in this comprehensive reference work. Each entry includes a brief description of the category, the subgenres or related types of films, and a list of movies that best exemplify the genre, showing original title or titles, nationality (73 countries are represented), year of production, additional titles (working title, re-release title, translation, etc.) and director or filmmaker.
Films into books : an analytical bibliography of film novelizations, movie, and TV tie-ins by Randall D. LarsonSince the early 1960s, movie novelizations have become a noticeable part of popular literature and a unique avenue for authors to express on the page what a movie portrayed on screen. In the midst of the tide of movie tie-ins published in America and Britain have been a number of treasures, many far better than the movies that brought them into being. Films into Books provides the first in-depth coverage of this sub-genre. Combining a discussion of what novelizations are (and are not), and how they have become such an icon of popular culture, Larson also includes interviews with more than fifty authors, from Charles N. Heckelmann, author of 1937's Jungle Menace, to Piers Anthony, who novelized 1992's Total Recall.
Forbidden films : censorship histories of 125 motion pictures by Dawn B. SovaSince the earliest days of the film industry, mainstream films have been banned for their sexual, religious, social and political content. This volume traces the efforts to censor 125 films, ranging from the silent ""The Birth of a Nation"", to ""Schindler's List"". It examines the continued efforts to regulate the industry, providing a summary of each banned film - including production details, censorship history, and suggestions for further reading. The volume looks at the early efforts to regulate the movie industry, such as the Hays Code in 1922 and the Motion Picture Production Code in 1930. There is also coverage on the emergence of the Catholic League of Decency, which wielded extensive power for nearly 40 years and the reasoning behind the different types of censorship, including racism and anti-Semitism, sexual ""indecency"" and the fear of Communism. The appendices profile the directors of the banned films, classify them according to the reason for their censorship or ban, and listing of 125 additional challenged, censored, and banned films.
International dictionary of films and filmmakersRevised and updated, this four-volume set focuses on the most often studied films, directors, actors and actresses, and writers and production artists. Entries include biographies, filmographies, major awards and bibliographies.
Silent films, 1877-1996 : a critical guide to 646 movies by Robert K. KlepperThis film reference covers 646 silent motion pictures, from Eadweard Muybridge's initial motion photography experiments in 1877 to the 1996 silent film effort, The Taxi Dancer. Among the genre included are classics, dramas, Westerns, light comedies, documentaries and even poorly produced early pornography. Masterpieces such as Joan the Woman (1916), Intolerance (1916) and Faust (1926) can be found, as well as rare titles that have not received coverage since their original releases.