It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Special Collections, Strozier Library, 00/MSS 2006-013
The Florida State University (FSU) Office of Multicultural Affairs Records documents the activities of this campus department from its beginnings as the FSU Office of Minority Affairs in the 1970s. Series 3 of the collection includes photos of 1960s civil rights activities in Florida and Tallahassee, a document from the Florida Department of State certifying that the Articles of Incorporation of the Florida Black Student Association, Inc. is a "true and correct copy" (Articles not included with document), and a Florida Department of State notice that the Florida Black Student Association is exempt from registration as a charitable organization.
Call Number: Special Collections, Strozier Library, 00/MSS 2007-009
The Wiley L. Housewright Faculty Professional Relations Committee Files primarily include correspondence and memoranda to and from the Committee during the period he served as chair. Portions include faculty participation in civil rights activities, such as discussing the segregation-integration issue in the classroom.
Call Number: Claude Pepper Library, 00/HUA 2018-062
This collection includes subject files from Doak Campbell's tenure as President of Florida State College for Women and Florida State University. The files include correspondence and files on FSU faculty, buildings, University budgets, academic programs, and campus committees. Box 21 includes folders dedicated to the Fabisinski Committee, which worked to limit the ramifications of the Brown decision and grant more state control over Florida schools in the name of preventing unrest.
Call Number: Special Collections, Strozier Library, 00/MSS 2007-016
The Florida State University (FSU) Administrative Council Minutes include agendas, articles, charts, correspondence, memoranda, minutes, press releases, and other attachments documenting the work of this organization from the mid-1960s through the mid-1970s. Some of the topics frequently discussed were affirmative action, African-American student relations, energy conservation plans, parking and traffic issues, racial discrimination, staff/administrative classifications, student activism, and the University's self-study.
Call Number: Special Collections, Strozier Library, 00/MSS 2007-017
This collection includes minutes and related materials documenting the meetings of the Florida State University (FSU) Council of Deans. Civil Rights-related topics include the Affirmative Action program and segregation.
Call Number: Claude Pepper Library, 00/HUA 2018-066
Collection is currently unprocessed, but accessible to researchers if they call ahead. This collection includes files from Bernard Sliger's tenure as President of Florida State University, including correspondence, files from campus committees, campus reports, budget files, information on academic programs or colleges, and files on other universities in Florida. Includes files on the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU), Affirmative Action, the Black Cultural Center, Programs to increase African American faculty and staff, desegregation progress evaluation, minority student affairs, and the Equal Education Opportunities Act.