Research Guides: Sales Prospecting Research: Company Prospecting

Company Databases

(Public/Private Companies)

Mergent Market Atlas

Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online) offers powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface providing access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data analysis tools and reports.

Abbreviation: markat
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Reports
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Public and private company information.

Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
PrivCo
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 165,000 companies, including financial data, over 30,000 M&A transactions, and over 15,000 funding rounds. PrivCo also has over 10,000 investors, and advance search options by company, deal or investor, giving you the ability to generate fields of data within seconds based on criteria such as location, sub-industry, revenue and employee sizes, financial backing and more.

Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PrivCo.

Abbreviation: priv
Vendor: PrivCo
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect three major sections: Mergent Online for information on companies (mainly US & non-US public companies); First Research covers industry information including: critical issues, business challenges & trends, industry opportunities, executive insight and sales call prep questions by function.

Tutorials:
Quick Search Guide (2:25)
Company Advanced Search (2:33)
Build a File (3:11)
Consumer Lifestyle (2:10)

Abbreviation: mergint
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories
Nexis Uni
Public and private company data.
To make company list: at main page - click on "Menu", choose "Company Dossier" - on left, choose :Create a company list" - choose geographic attributes at bottom - customize list and save as a CVS/XLS

Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings

Company Employee Contacts

Mergent Intellect
Residential Search and Consumer Data allow you to search for people and businesses, service provides full contacts and potential linkages to individuals.

Tutorials:
Quick Search Guide (2:25)
Company Advanced Search (2:33)
Build a File (3:11)
Consumer Lifestyle (2:10)

Abbreviation: mergint
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories

Nexis Uni
Public and private company data.
To make company employee list: at main page - click on "Menu", choose "Executive" tab at top - on left, choose :Create a executive list" - choose geographic attributes at bottom - limit list using "Job Title" attributes at top - customize list and save as a CVS/XLS

Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings

Company News Resources

Improve Call Preparation

Access relevant news, and financials; view SWOT analyses and analyst research.

Business Source Complete
"Basic Search" search by company. Company report is from Datamonitor and covers basic overview, business description, key employees, revenue analysis, simple SWOT Analysis, and top competitors.
ABI/Inform Complete
Contains all Proquest's business databases: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

Popular Rankings

Fortune 500
Forbes Lists
Entrepreneur Magazine Top 500 Franchises
Largest Family Businesses
Inc. Magazine 5000
Industry Week Top Manufacturer Lists
Selling Power 500
(available in library, September/October issues has the Selling Power 500)
Deloitte Technology Fast 500