Research Guides: *Human Development &amp; Family Science: Finding Articles

Subject Librarian

Liz Dunne

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

1112D Learning Commons
Strozier Library
116 Honors Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850.644.4602

Subjects: Human Development & Family Science

Relevant Databases Available at FSU

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Abbreviation: sssi
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1956–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text covers a wide array of areas, including addiction studies, ethics, public welfare, urban studies and much more. Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.
Abbreviation: ssft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1983–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Early Childhood Education, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Subject coverage:
Community and mental health services
Crisis intervention
The family and social welfare
Gerontology
Poverty and homelessness
Professional issues in social work
Social services in addiction
Social work education
Social work practice
Violence, abuse, neglect

Abbreviation: socserabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, E-Journal Collections, Human Development & Family Science, Indexes & Catalogs, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Citation Management, Dissertations / Theses, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Please see the Human Development & Family Science Database by Subject page for a more complete list of databases related to this subject.

Relevant Journals Available at FSU

Please see this more extensive list of journals related to Child & Youth Development.

Please see this more extensive list of journals related to Gerontology.

Please see this more extensive list of journals related to Family, Marriage & Sex Roles.

*Human Development & Family Science

Subject Librarian

Relevant Databases Available at FSU

Relevant Journals Available at FSU

Ask a Librarian Virtual Chat