Labor & Employment

The Employment Projections Program from the Bureau of Labor Statistics develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for the next 10 years.

The November 2009 that highlights employment outlook, 2008-18.

Short and long term projections for many occupations, searchable by state.

Data and information is located under each occupation.

Scroll to the bottom of the page for data tables.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Descriptive information about various occupations with the salary range, educational requirements, and job outlook

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Has State by State Economic snapshots, Topics list, Weekly Economic Digest, Reports, Hearings and more.

Work places from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Includes many of the Bureau of Labor Statistics serials, hosted on the Federal Reserve Archive (FRASER)

"The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is digitizing publications of the Women's Bureau, featuring the Bulletins of the Women's Bureau. Originally organized in 1918 as the Women in Industry Service, a war agency of the Department of Labor, the Women's Bureau of the US Department of Labor was permanently established under its new name in 1920."

"The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."

"The Council of Economic Advisers assists the President with the development and implementation of our nation’s economic policy."

For all the states.

List of useful sites.

Very comprehensive list with full-text access of indicators and releases, updated Monday through Friday. Most link to government sites.

Data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

U.S. Census Bureau

Vanderbilt University

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau

Monthly survey providing labor force, employment, unemployment and more. Data is compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Also available in STROZIER, Documents -- CD-ROMs -- C59.24:

Salary and employment statistics for many occupations in all the states.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau

The official Federal Acquisitions Regulation (FAR) mandated Web site containing current and archived wage determinations. Can search for a determination or browse by state and county. Determinations available from 2000 to present.

A digital archive collection that includes United States Department of Labor publications, trade union and labor history materials, labor leaders’ biographies, statistical abstracts, etc.

A tool to make cost-of-living comparisons between cities if thinking about relocating to Florida or expanding your company there.

This agency directly administers the state’s Labor Market Statistics program, Unemployment Compensation, Early Learning and various workforce development programs.

This professional conference takes a nonpartisan approach to forecasting the state's revenues. Begun in 1970. The structure of the conference and the use of its results are specified in the Florida statutes. Also available in STROZIER, Documents Florida -- Fla-Doc LEG3. C55/2.

A public-private partnership serving as Florida’s primary organization devoted to statewide economic development.

Left side has links to all states

A powerful online labor market information system.

Florida wages.com

The research arm of the Legislature mainly concerned with forecasting economic and social trends affecting policy making, revenues, and appropriations. Publishes all of the official economic, demographic, revenue, and agency workload forecasts that are developed by Consensus Estimating Conferences

Many also available in FSU STROZIER, Documents General Collection Ground Floor -- LR1.1: This report was suspended in 2009. See this website for more details.

STROZIER, Documents -- Periodicals -- L2.38/3:

Earlier issues (back to 1954) in STROZIER, Documents -- Periodicals -- L2.41/2:

For earlier issues, see this title in our online catalog.

STROZIER, Documents General Collection -- L2.3: 2340. Latest edition on Ready Reference

"Up-to-the-minute, background papers on current topics."
Some issues available in STROZIER, Documents General Collection L2.132:

This journal began in 1915 and it is considered to be the "principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the Bureau of Labor Statistics" Articles are written by economists, statisticians, Bureau experts and private sector experts.
STROZIER, Documents Periodicals -- L2.6:

in Hein Online- 1915-current

The 2010 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system is used by Federal statistical agencies to classify workers and jobs into occupational categories in order to collect, calculate, analyze and disseminate data. STROZIER, Documents-- PREX2.6/3:2010

Annual report submitted by the Secretary of State to Congress.