Skip to Main Content
260,000+ subscribers and 1,200+ clients turn to trendwatching.com for global consumer trends, insights and related innovations.
Florida Electronic Library
Industry reports and publications are great places to look for trends, and The Florida Electronic Library has some great resources for this. Examples of these are General Business File ASAP, the SBRC, and the Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure collections. These resources are free to anyone using a Florida IP address or with a Florida library card.
Springwise is comprised of a team of around 17,000 spotters looking for new, innovative ideas for businesses.
Google Advanced Search
Trade and Industry Associations are some of the best places to find this type of information and Google Advanced is an excellent tool for this. A search with keywords about your industry and "association" or "organization" could bring valuable results. You can also narrow by region using this tool as well as by format. Narrowing the format to PDF or XLS could result in finding reports or statistical tables.
Google Trends can be used in a number of different ways to spot and track trends. Trending terms can be compared with one another and tracked over time using the compare tool. You can also explore what terms are trending in different topic areas by region.
PSFK tracks innovation in a number of different areas such as advertising, arts, and culture, and PSFK also produces a number of full length trend reports.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is an excellent source for statistics and trend information in a variety of areas. The Pew Internet and American Life Project is particularly good for internet usage trends.
American Time Use Survey (ATUS)
The U.S. Bureau of labor statistics produces the American Time Use Survey (ATUS) which measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities.
Cool Hunting tracks new and cool innovations in areas such as design, fashion, technology, food, and culture.
Twitter's list of trending hashtags and topics is another great place to look for trending topics.
Much like Twitter, Facebook's list of trending hashtags and topics is another great place to look for trending topics.
This database covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including business and consumer behavior.
Outside researchers can gain access to FSU resources through the visitor research kiosks at the Strozier Library. In order to gain access to the library, a valid state-issued ID must be presented. This computers do not allow access to webpages other than the FSU resources, and it is necessary to bring a flashdrive to download these materials.
Plunkett Research Online
This database contains market research, industry statistics, trends and in-depth analysis of top companies in several different industries.
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. It even has breakdowns of which restaurants, bars, and clubs are trendy in select global metro areas.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete,This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. This includes several publications and reports pertaining to trends.
ABI/INFORM aggregates several trade publications, news publications, publications about advertising, and industry reports that track trends.
This database contains Industry Market Research and Risk Ratings. The Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forcasting, and industry growth rates.
This databases industry reports are high quality and also contain a lot about trends, but there are only around 50 industries represented.
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
All research is available to customers on eMarketer PRO. It’s the first place to look for data and research on digital when you need to be prepared for the work ahead. Coverage by Geography: Asia-Pacific, Central & Eastern Europe, Latin America, Middle East & Africa, North America, Western Europe, Coverage by Industry: Automotive, Consumer Products, Financial Services, Media & Entertainment, Pharma & Healthcare, Retail, Travel.
Other Resources to Look For
Most public libraries provide access to databases pertaining to business, and sometimes these databases are not held by FSU. Also, most public universities and some private universities provide access to some or all of their resources to the public. Make sure to look out for these resources when visiting your public library or another college or university.
This database provides intelligence reports on markets, consumers, countries, and industries. It is available at the University of Florida.
Full-text market research reports with graphs, charts and tables. MarketResearch.com currently contains approximately 500 full-length market research reports, with more added every quarter. All reports are embargoed for 12 months. This resource is available at the University of Florida.
This extensive directory can help determine the size of the market in your geographic area. Several public libraries provide access to this resource.