Research Guides: Geology: Journal Articles & Databases

Finding Databases

Key Geology Databases for Journal Articles and Other Scholarly Information

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.

Abbreviation: easdb
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Earth Science, Oceanography
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
GeoRef
This covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are covered and are a renowned source for Geology and Earth Science.
Coverage Includes:
- Areal geology
- Economic geology
- Engineering geology
- Environmental geology
- Extraterrestrial geology
- Geochemistry
- Geochronology
- Geophysics
- Hydrogeology and hydrology
Abbreviation: georef
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1669–Current
Subjects: Geology, Oceanography, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Natural Science Collection

The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science; Biological Science; and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science databases; and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.

Abbreviation: nsc
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1946–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Earth Science, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Geology
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

USGS Publications Warehouse
USGS Publications Warehouse is a web application managed by the US Geological Survey Library that provides information and access to publications written by USGS authors.

Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full-text.

Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
Annual Reviews

Provides searchable, full-text access to original scholarly review articles. These review articles provide periodic examination of scholarly advances in various scientific fields as well as reviews of the current state of research in a field. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. FSU has access to the Sciences and Economics collections.

Tutorials:
Website guided tour
The timeline below shows when specific topics are covered in the video.

00:00-00:46 min. - Annual Reviews Homepage and Login
00:47-01:15 min. - My Account Features
01:16-02:11 min. - Homepage Browse Features and Access Icons
02:12-02:30 min. - Journals Tab (Browse)
02:31-04:21 min. - Journal Homepage Features
04:22-05:13 min. - Table of Contents Page Features
05:14-05:42 min. - Abstract Page Features
05:43-06:41 min. - Full-Text Journal Page Features
06:42-08:45 min. - Content Box Features (Figures and References)
08:46-09:02 min. - Search Features
09:03-09:48 min. - Search Results Page and Filtering Options

Annual Reviews Mobile App

Abbreviation: annrev
Vendor: Annual Reviews
Coverage: 1932–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Historical / Primary Sources

Geology

When FSU Doesn't Own the Article

Finding Databases

Key Geology Databases for Journal Articles and Other Scholarly Information

Journals and e-Journals