It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Details: Over 2,890+/1,920+ in full text academic and industry-oriented business journals are covered, with full-text access to selected newspapers from 1971.
Format: abstract and index, full text, full image, text+graphics
Provides information on over 17 million worldwide companies. Comprehensive company profiles, including corporate history, executives, products/operations data, financials, and news, provided for US public and top private businesses. Hoovers Academic provides a view of the competitive landscape and industry benchmarks, as well as, the ability to generate lists of companies and executives in targeted functions or industries within specific geographic regions by specific criteria.
Details: Provides information on over 17 million worldwide companies. Comprehensive company profiles, including corporate history, executives, products/operations data, financials, and news, provided for US public and top private businesses. Hoover’s Academic provides a view of the competitive landscape and industry benchmarks, as well as, the ability to generate lists of companies and executives in targeted functions or industries within specific geographic regions by specific criteria.
Format: Content available in html for viewing. Download profiles to PDF.
Coverage: Updated daily, data back 10 years.
Right column, under Publication Search, select Stock Report and enter the name of your public company. Short report covers business description and some corporate strategy, as well as 10 years of financials.
51 U.S. surveys on mature industries. Right panel/Quick Links, use drop down to select industry. Reports include current environment, trends & how the industry operates.
Use NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) and SIC
(Standard Industrial Classification) codes to find market size, develop
lists of competitors, suppliers or customers, find industry ratios, and
There is no central government agency with the
role of assigning, monitoring, or approving NAICS codes for establishments.
Individual establishments are assigned NAICS codes by various agencies for
various purposes using a variety of methods. Various other government agencies,
trade associations, and regulation boards adopted the NAICS classification
system to assign codes to their own lists of establishments for their own
The Standard Industrial Classification
(abbreviated SIC), established in 1937, is a United States government
system for classifying industries by a four-digit code.The
project was designed to classify "industries" in the broad sense of
all economic activity. As the definition of US “industry” has changed from a manufacturing
focus to idea or services focus the SIC code was less useful.
NAICS was developed under the direction and
guidance of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) as the standard for use
by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the
collection, tabulation, presentation, and analysis of statistical data
describing the U.S. economy. NAICS is based on a production-oriented concept,
meaning that it groups establishments into industries according to similarity
in the processes used to produce goods or services. NAICS replaced the Standard
Industrial Classification (SIC) system in 1997.
Database and datasets will often use a modified NAICS or SIC classification system to organize companies.