Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Quick Links
Frequently Used Resources
Finding Journal Articles
How can you find more journal articles on your topic than what is listed in the Grove bibliographies? Search these resources for citations, and click on the "Find it @FSU" icon or text to see if an electronic copy is available. These resources are great for articles published in the 20th-21st centuries.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A great first stop for articles on classical music topics.
RILM indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and reviews, primarily in the areas of musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and analysis. Its coverage is international in scope, and it includes citations for many foreign language materials. RILM's coverage extends from 1966 through the present
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database draws its current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Indexing 1998 - present (plus 89,464 retrospective citations from 46 periodicals, dating back to 1864)
Founded in 1995, JSTOR is a non-profit, interdisciplinary, scholarly archive. It features complete runs of scholarly journals, with articles digitized into pdfs. JSTOR currently contains 57 music journals, including Cambridge Opera Journal, Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS), Early Music, Music Educators' Journal, and Perspectives of New Music.
Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library