Research Guides: Music in the US II: Looking for specific books and articles

Books, articles, and more

Bibliographies and encyclopedias are wonderful starting points, but new research is published every day. Searching the library catalog and the article indexes (such as RILM) will uncover this new research.

Finding Journal Articles

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A great first stop for articles on classical music topics.
RILM indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and reviews, primarily in the areas of musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and analysis. Its coverage is international in scope, and it includes citations for many foreign language materials. RILM's coverage extends from 1966 through the present

How can you find more journal articles on your topic than what is listed in the Grove bibliographies? Search these resources for citations, and click on the "Find it @FSU" icon or text to see if an electronic copy is available. These resources are great for articles published in the 19th-21st centuries.

Music Index Online
Online indexing from 1970 to the present.
RIPM Retrospective Guide to Music Literature
RIPM primarily indexes 19th century music periodicals, but is including more 20th century content each update.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database draws its current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Indexing 1998 - present (plus 89,464 retrospective citations from 46 periodicals, dating back to 1864)
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Need to find reviews prior to the 1970s? Wonder what was written about a composer/performer, etc. in the 1940s? Try the Readers' Guide Retrospective.
JSTOR
Founded in 1995, JSTOR is a non-profit, interdisciplinary, scholarly archive. It features complete runs of scholarly journals, with articles digitized into pdfs. JSTOR currently contains 57 music journals, including Cambridge Opera Journal, Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS), Early Music, Music Educators' Journal, and Perspectives of New Music.
New York Times (including retrospective)
The New York Times is considered one of the "papers of record" in the US. An important resource for performance documentation, reviews, obituaries, and more.

Music in the US II

Music Quick Links

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Books, articles, and more

Finding Journal Articles