Research Guides: Business Article Databases: Types of Business Journals

Types of Business Periodicals

	General/Regional Business	Trade	Scholarly (mostly peer-reviewed)	Consumer	Government
Content	Provides overview on current business and economic condition and trends	Provides detailed descriptive and analytic data for a particular business or industry	Articles reporting research findings, review articles, book reviews	Personal finance magazines	Government policy, regulations, economic data and statistics, consumer information
Audience	General public, business industry professionals	Business or industry professionals	Scholars/researchers, including college students	General public	Researchers, general public, librarians
Examples	Business Week Carolina Business Journal Forbes Fortune	Poultry Digest Publishers Weekly	Harvard Business Review	Money Kiplinger	Survey of Current Business
How to find	Use news databases (i.e., Lexis/Nexis, Regional Business News). Some are available online for free	Use article databases, or check out the website of the professional associations of the particular industry.	Use article databases (i.e., ABI/Inform), or library catalog for journal holdings	Use article database	Many are available on the Web, and print back files are available at the Libraries

Credit: Moss, R. W. & Ernsthausen, D. G. (2012). Strauss’s handbook of business information: A guide for librarians, students, and researchers. (3^rd ed.), Santa Barbara, CA: Libraries Unlimited.

Tip: If you are not sure whether a publicatoin is scholarly journal or trade magazine, ask your instructor or librarian for help. Or, use Ulrichs database at the library website, type in the publication title, and read the description of the publication.