Florida History

Lynch, Bartholomew M. Bartholomew Lynch journal, 1837-1839. STROZIER Special Collections available on Microfilm Film 8943

Private Bartholomew M. Lynch was part of Company H, United States Army, during the Florida War, 1837-1839.

Vinton, John Rogers. Letter. STROZIER Special Collections MSS Box 158

John Rogers Vinton was a Captain in the United States Army during the time of the Seminole Wars. This item is a letter from Captain John Rogers Vinton from Fort New Smyrna, Florida, and dated 1840. Wheelock, T. B. Military paper, 1836. STROZIER Special Collections MSS Box 158

Manuscript application by T. B. Wheelock, 1st Lieutenant, Dragoons, Black Creek, Clay County, East Florida dated June 4, 1836, to the Hon. Lewis Cap, Secretary of War, Washington, D.C., asking to be appointed captain in a new regiment of dragoons being formed. Wright, J. Leitch. Papers. STROZIER Special Collections MSS Box 41-55; 224-227, 324-332

Dr. J. Leitch Wright taught history at FSU from 1968 until his death in 1986. He was particularly interested in the Southern frontier and the tribes who lived there.

Blassingame, Wyatt. Osceola : Seminole war chief. Champaign, Ill. : Garrard Pub. Co. <1967> STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835.O8 B55 1967

Buckmaster, Henrietta. The Seminole wars. <1st ed.> New York, Collier Books <1966> STROZIER Special Collections Florida  E83.817 .B8

Buker, George E. Swamp sailors: riverine warfare in the Everglades, 1835-1842. Gainesville: University Presses of Florida, 1975. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .B8

Brown, George M. Ponce de Leon land and Florida war record. 7th ed.

St. Augustine, Fla.: <The Record printing company>, <1910>, c1902. The Florida war record on p. 119-180 comprises lists of soldiers of the United States army who lost their lives in the second Seminole war, 1836-1842. STROZIER Special Collections Florida F311 .B88 1910 

Covington, James W. The Billy Bowlegs War, 1855-1858: the final stand of the Seminoles against the whites. Cluluota, Fla.: Mickler House Publishers, 1982,c1981. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.855 .C68 1982

Ervin, William R. The Seminole War : prelude to victory, 1823-1838. Holly Hill, FL: W. & S. Ervin Publishing, c1983. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .E78

Fishburne, Charles C. Of chiefs and generals : a history of the Cedar Keys to the end of the Second Seminole War. Cedar Key, FL : Sea Hawk Publications, c1982. STROZIER Special Collections Florida F319.C43 F58 1982, pt.1

Florida. Board of State Institutions. Soldiers of Florida in the Seminole Indian, Civil and Spanish-American wars. Prepared and published under the supervision of the Board of State Institutions, as authorized by chapter 2203, laws of Florida, approved May 14, 1903. <Live Oak, Fla., Democrat Print, 1903?> STROZIER Special Collections Florida  E558.3 .F63

Francke, Arthur E. Fort Mellon, 1837-42: a microcosm of the second Seminole war. Miami: Banyan Books, c1977. STROZIER LIBRARY Special Collections Florida E83.835 .F73 

Hanna, Alfred Jackson. Fort Maitland; its origin and history. Maitland, Fla., The Fort Maitland Committee, 1936. STROZIER Special Collections Florida F319.M35 H26 

Hendry, Francis Asbury. Billy Bowlegs almost caught in his own trap. Fort Meyers <Fla.>: Longmire and Taylor, printers, 1965. "First printed in the 'Fort Meyers press' on Saturday, April 4, 1885.” STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.855 .H45

Hickox, Ron G. U.S. military edged weapons of the Second Seminole War, 1835-1842 : a study of U.S. military edged weapons from 1818 to 1842; illustrated by Raymond E. Giron; foreword by Norm Flayderman. Tampa, Fla.: R.G. Hickox, c1984. STROZIER Special Collections Florida U855 .H53 1984

Laumer, Frank. Dade's last command. Gainesville : University Press of Florida, c1995. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 L36 1995

Mahon, John K. History of the Second Seminole War, 1835-1842. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1967. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .M3 

Steele, Willard. The Battle of Okeechobee / by Willard Steele ; edited by Robert S. Carr. Miami, Fl : Archaeological and Historical Conservancy, c1987. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .S84 1987

Walton, George H. Fearless and free : the Seminole Indian War, 1835-1842. Indianapolis : Bobbs-Merrill, 1977. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .W33

Wolf, John B. The Battle at the Loxahatchee River : the Seminole War. Jupiter, Fla.: Loxahatchee Historical Society, <1985?> STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .W65

Banks, John. A short biographical sketch of the undersigned by himself. Austell, Ga.: Privately printed, 1936. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.817 B35 1936

Bemrose, John. Reminiscences of the Second Seminole War. Edited by John K. Mahon. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1966. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .B4 

Biddle, Richard. Remarks of Mr. Biddle, on the Seminole war. Delivered in the House of Representatives, January 24, 1838, and June 5, 1838. Washington, D.C., Printed at the office of Niles' National Register, 1838. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .B5

Boggess, Francis Calvin Morgan. A veteran of four wars. The autobiography of F. C. M. Boggess. A record of pioneer life and adventure, and heretofore unwritten history of the Florida Seminole Indian wars. Arcadia, Fla.: Printed at the Champion job rooms, 1900. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.855 .B67a

Calhoun, John C. Correspondence between Gen. Andrew Jackson and John C. Calhoun, president and vice-president of the U. States, on the subject of the course of the latter, in the deliberations of the cabinet of Mr. Munroe, on the occurrences in the Seminole war. Washington: Printed by D. Green, 1831. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.817 C15 1831 

Canova, Andrew P. Life and adventures in south Florida. By Andrew P. Canova assisted by L.S. Perkins, with an introduction by Hon. Robt. W. Davis. Tampa, Fla.: Tribune printing co., 1906. 1st edition, Palatka, Fla. 1885. STROZIER Special Collections Florida F315 C22 1885

Cohen, M. M. Notices of Florida and the campaigns. A facsimile reproduction of the 1836 editon with introduction by O. Z. Tyler, Jr. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1964, c1836. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 C67 1964 

Eaton, John Henry. The life of Major General Andrew Jackson: comprising a history of the war in the South; from the commencement of the Creek campaign to the termination of hostilities before New Orleans.  Addenda: containing a brief history of the Seminole War, and cession and government of Florida. 3d ed. Rev. and cor. by the author. Philadelphia: McCarty & Davis, 1828. STROZIER Special Collections   973.56 J12E 1828

Giddings, Joshua R. The exiles of Florida; or, The crimes committed by our government against the Maroons who fled from South Carolina and other slave states, seeking protection under Spanish laws. A facsimile reproduction of the 1858 edition with introduction by Arthur W. Thompson. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1964. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.817 .G452

Gifford, John Clayton. Billy Bowlegs and the Seminole war, with notes and comments by John C. Gifford. Coconut Grove, Fla.: The Triangle company <c1925> "Copied by permission from Harper's weekly for June 12, 1858" STROZIER Special Collections Florida E99 S28 G4 1925

Jesup, Thomas Sidney. Seminole saga; the Jesup report. Fort Myers Beach, Fla., Island Press <1973> Reprint of a work first issued in 1838 as Senate document 507, 25th Congress, 2d session under title: Message from the President of the United States, transmitting a report from Major General Jesup of his operations whilst commanding the Army in Florida, in compliance with a resolution of the Senate of the 6th instant; with new introduction. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .J47 1838a

McCall, George A. Letters from the frontiers; written during a period of thirty years' service in the army of the United States. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1868. STROZIER Special Collections Florida  F296 M12 1868

Motte, Jacob Rhett. Journey into wilderness; an army surgeon's account of life in camp and field during the Creek and Seminole Wars, 1836-1838. Edited by James F. Sunderman. Gainesville: University of Florida Press, 1953. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .M68

Narrative of a voyage to the Spanish Main in the ship Two Friends: the occupation of Amelia Island ... : a facsimile reproduction of the 1819 edition with an introduction and index by John W. Griffin. Gainesville: University Presses of Florida, 1978. STROZIER Special Collections Florida F314 .N23 1978

Potter, Woodburne. The war in Florida: being an exposition of its causes, and an accurate history of the campaigns of Generals Clinch, Gaines, and Scott. By a late staff officer. Baltimore, Lewis and Coleman, 1836. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .P86

Prince, Henry. Amidst a storm of bullets: the diary of Lt. Henry Prince in Florida, 1836-1842.  Edited by Frank Laumer ; foreword by John K. Mahon. Tampa, Fla. : University of Tampa Press, 1998. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .P875 1998

Rodenbough, Theophilus F. From everglade to canon with the Second Dragoons, (Second United States cavalry); an authentic account of service in Florida, Mexico, Virginia, and the Indian country, including the personal recollections of prominent officers, with an appendix containing orders, reports and correspondence, military records, etc., etc., 1836-1875. New York: D. Van Nostrand, 1875. STROZIER Special Collections Florida UA31 2d R62

Sprague, John Titcomb. The origin, progress, and conclusion of the Florida War.  A facsimile reproduction of the 1848 edition with introduction by John K. Mahon. Gainesville: University of Florida Press 1964. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.835 .S77 1848a

Trumbull, Henry. History of the discovery of America; of the landing of our forefathers at Plymouth and of their most remarkable engagements with the Indians in New-England, from their first landing in 1620 until the final subjugation of the natives in 1679. To which is annexed, the particulars of almost every important engagement with the savages at the westward to the present day. Including the defeat of Generals Braddock, Harmer and St. Clair, by the Indians at the westward; the Creek and Seminole war, &c. Boston: J. P. Peaslee, 1828. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E81 .T895

United States. Congress (15th, 2nd session : 1818-1819). House. Debate, in the House of representatives ... on the Seminole war, in January and February, 1819. Washington: Printed at the office of the National Intelligencer, 1819. STROZIER Special Collections Florida E83.817 U58 1819

United States. Congress (26th, 1st session : 1839-1840). House. Memorial of Richard K. Call. March 16, 1840.  Referred to the Committee on Military Affairs.  Washington: Blair & Rives, 1840: 26th Congress, 1st session. House doc. no. 136. STROZIER Special Collections Florida F315 C3 U5 1840

United States. President (1849-1850: Taylor). Message from the President of the United States communicating information in answer to a resolution of the Senate relative to hostilities committed by the Seminole Indians in Florida during the past year, their removal.  Washington, D.C. : s.n., 1850? 31st Congress, 1st session. Senate. Ex. doc. no. 49. STROZIER Special Collections F315 .U58

Walker, David. Speech of the Hon. David Walker of Kentucky on the resolutions to censure Gen. Jackson : delivered in the House of Representatives in Committee of the Whole, February 2, 1819. Tallahassee, Fla.: Office of the Florida Sentinel, 1851. STROZIER Special Collections E382 .W235 1851

Sketch of the Seminole War, and sketches during a campaign by a Lieutenant, of the Left Wing.  STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Mic 973