Research Guides: Resources for Music-Arts Administration: Finding articles

Arts Administration Journals

Specific journals listed on your syllabus:

AJAM: American Journal of Arts Management
- Free, but must register for a subscription
ENCATC: Journal of Cultural Management and Policy
- Freely available online
IJAM: International Journal of Arts Management
- Available through FSU subscription

Other important journals:

ARTIVATE: A Journal of Entrepreneurship in the Arts
- Freely available online.
Chronicle of Philanthropy
International Journal of Cultural Policy
Journal of Cultural Economics
MEIEA Journal
Journal of Arts Management, Law, and Society

Major organization magazines/journals/websites:

Symphony Magazine (print copies available in AML; online access from 1/2010 to present)
The Voice of Chorus America (print copies available in AML; online access 2005- present)
Opera America

Finding articles using periodical indexes/databases

Because arts management encompasses a number of broad subject areas, the databases and resources you use may not be the same ones you used for a music history paper!

Subject terms that may be useful:

arts management
cultural policy
cultural resources management
federal aid to nonprofit organizations
government policy
nonprofit organizations
nonprofit sector
management
performing arts
performing arts centers
public policy
public relations

These terms may not useful in every database. When in doubt, look for a link called "Thesaurus" or "Subject terms" to discover the exact term used in a particular database.

So WHICH databases?

ABI/INFORM Global
Indexes periodicals, selected books, and dissertations in business and business-related fields (including arts administration).
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: abi-global
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, MIS: Management Information Systems, Real Estate, Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Academic Search Complete
General periodical database; searches across a number of subject areas. Can be great for interdisciplinary topics (like arts management), but can yield large search results.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Business Source Complete
Indexes over 1,200 journals; includes international publications.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports

PAIS International
Indexes journal articles in public affairs, public policy.

Resources for Music-Arts Administration

Music Quick Links

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Arts Administration Journals

Finding articles using periodical indexes/databases

So WHICH databases?