Research Guides: Early Childhood Education: Articles

Interlibrary Loan

ILLIAD
ILLiad is the electronic system software you use to request an item through Interlibrary Loan

Request articles not available at FSU or other local libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

Databases for articles on early childhood education

Search these databases to find journal articles on early childhood education topics. From an off-campus location, first log in using your FSU ID and password.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Academic Search Complete
Over 7,000 full-text periodicals, abstracts for over 11,000 journals and 11,600 other publications.

Topics:animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
This database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Contains more than 75,000 critical reviews of thousands of children's books, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults, and an average of more than 1500 new reviews are added to the database monthly.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Coverage from 1966 - present.
Education Full Text
Includes Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983) and Education Full Text (1983-present) which index English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. Many articles published since 1996 are available in full text.
Educators Reference Complete
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
(1973 - present)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973- present.

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and the Conference Proceedings Citation Index in Science and Social Science.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

ComDisDome
(1960 to Present)
Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, scholars (authors of books and articles), institutions, and web resources, (with grants to be added soon) in the fields of speech language pathology and audiology.
PubMed
(1960 - present)
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
Sociological Abstracts
(1963 - present)
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Social Services Abstracts
(1980 - present)
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development from 1980-present.

Subject Guide

Liz Dunne

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

1112D Learning Commons
Strozier Library
116 Honors Way
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850.644.4602

Subjects: Human Development & Family Science

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles. When searching from off campus, access Google Scholar through the Database list and log in with your FSU ID and password in order to get links to articles available through the FSU Libraries.