Research Guides: HFT 2060 Coffee, Tea & International Culture: Final Project

Final Project Parts

Read the assignment instructions carefully. The course textbooks, the reading materials and the lecture files are great places to find information to complete the project. Wikipedia is also a good place to get an overview, but please note that Wikipedia might not be considered as a reliable source for academic papers.

Project Parts	Types of information	Suggested Sources
Intro to cultural comparison; Environment	Background info on the country Coffee or tea labeling laws of the country	_Databases & websites for country information _Books Books on World Geography are a great source to explore information on world regions. E.g., "World Regions in Global Context" (@ Strozier, Course Reserves) _Government websites
Geography	Maps	_Google Maps _Rand McNally _Free Map creation tools -World Atlas
History & Politics	Books, websites, encyclopedia articles on the history of coffee or tea in the country. Weather, growing practices
Culture	Info on the consumers Festivals, religious events, fairs, or events dealing with coffee or tea in the region	Databases _Pop Culture Universe: Icons, idols, ideas _eHRAF: World Cultures _ Access World News e-Books _Encyclopedia of Food & Culture Websites: World Coffee Events Coffee Fest
Local food	Newspaper or magazine articles on traditional or trendy local food in the country or region in regard to coffee or tea	Databases _Hospitality & Tourism Complete _Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection _Culinary Arts Collection _ Access World News
Economic impact	Statistics on coffee or tea export Data on popularity of coffee or tea in the country Directory of coffee or tea producers	Trade associations or coffee research institutes of the country: e.g., International Coffee Organization's Trade Statistics Government documents Market or industry reports (IBISWorld database or Business Source Complete database) Books
Final analysis	Comparisons: Coffee or tea processing in the US Climates Popular culture features coffee or tea Religious history and current religious climate in regard to coffee or tea production Similarities & differences in the two cultures	_Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

PowerPoint Tips

Lynda.com

Free online tutorials for software, design and business topics, including the tutorials on how to create presentation slides (e.g. Powerpoint), and customized maps.

You must be an active FSU student or employee to use lynda.com

Log in to myFSU at https://my.fsu.edu with your username and password.
Click on the "Secure Apps" tab
Click on the link that says Lynda.com Online Training

Once you log on, explore tutorials/topics such as:

PowerPoint 2013 Power Shortcuts
PowerPoint 2013 Essential Training
PowerPoint: Using Photos and Video Effectively for Great Presentations
PowerPoint: From Outline to Presentation
PowerPoint Tips and Tricks for Business Presentations
GIS on the Web (Google Maps, Bing Maps, Esri to create map mashups)

Finding & Using Images

Food Images in Public Domain

Food Images in Commercial Domain

Google Advanced Image Search
At Usage Rights section, choose "Free to Use or Reuse" option from the drop-down menu. Add keywords such as food, international food, for the search.

Infographics

Go to Google and run a search using the following search query:

infographics coffee
infographics tea