Skip to main content
International Educational Assessments
Program for International Student Assessment (PISA)
Coordinated by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, PISA surveys 15-year olds in the major industrial countries every 3 years to assess the knowledge and skills needed for full participation in society.
Trends in Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS)
Assessment of trends in mathematics and science education coordinated by the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement. Surveys 4th & 8th grade students in 60+ countries every 4 years beginning in 1995.
Progress in International Reading Literacy Study (PIRLS)
A five-year cycle of assessment that measures trends in children’s reading literacy achievement and policy and practices related to literacy. Conducted by the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement.
General Data Resources
Single entry point for more than 30 U.N. statistical databases.
World Development Indicators
World Bank database that includes data and estimates for a variety of topics, including education, gender, poverty, social development, labor, and economy.
International Education Statistical Sources
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - Education Data
Covering more than 200 countries and territories, the UIS database covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues.
World Bank EdStats
Collection of worldwide education data from national statistical sources, international learning assessments, and other sources. Provides tools for data analysis and visualization.
OECD is the online library of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development). Everything published by the OECD (books, journals, series, working papers, databases) is available online on OECD
Education Policy and Data Center
The Education Policy and Data Center is a resource for data, profiles, and data reports on education in developing and transitional countries.
Education for All
Information and reports on the progress towards education as well as the shortcomings towards toward reaching that goal for over 180 countries.
Open Doors (Institute of International Education)
Information resource on international students and scholars studying or teaching at higher education institutions in the United States, and U.S. students studying abroad for academic credit at their home colleges or universities. Print copies and CD-ROM available at Strozier Library.
The Geography of Foreign Students in U.S. Higher Education: Origins and Destinations
This study published by the Brookings Institute used visa information to analyze where students are coming from, where they are going, and what they are studying.
International Activities Program
National Center for Education Statistics site for survey and assessment data comparing U.S. educational performance with that of other countries.
USAID Global Reading Network EdData
EdData is a mechanism for improving the accuracy, timeliness, accessibility and use of data for education policy and program planning.
Explore the World Bank's datasets with their analysis and visualization tools.
International Data Explorer
Provided by the National Center for Education Statistics, this site uses data from 5 international assessments and provides tools to compare performance of U.S. students with those from other countries.