Research Guides: Linguistics & Language: Background Information

Modern Languages & Linguistics Librarian

Jonathan DaSo

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Office Hours Summer 2023:
By Appointment

(850) 644-0470

Subjects: Modern Languages

Reference Material: Specialized Linguistics

The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics by Keith Johnson (Editor); Helen Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 1999
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics by Robert B. Kaplan (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P129.O95 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The Routledge Handbook of Applied Linguistics by James Simpson (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P129.R68 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Second Language Acquisition: the Basics by Gregory D. Keating
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2016
Key Concepts in Second Language Acquisition by Shawn Loewen; Hayo Reinders
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P118.2.L64 2011
ISBN: 0230230180
Publication Date: 2011
The Handbook of Spanish Second Language Acquisition by Kimberly L. Geeslin (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2014
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition by Susan M. Gass (Editor); Alison Mackey (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P118.2.R68 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Theories in Second Language Acquisition by Bill VanPatten (Editor); Jessica Williams (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P118.2.T45 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Cambridge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition by Julia Herschensohn (Editor); Martha Young-Scholten (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013

Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language by P. Lamarque (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P106.C5946 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language and Linguistics by Alex Barber (Editor); Robert J. Stainton (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P107.C66 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A Companion to the Philosophy of Language by Bob Hale (Editor); Crispin Wright (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0631167579
Publication Date: 2000
Philosophy of Language by Richard Hanley (Editor); Michael Devitt (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P107.B58 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Philosophy of Language: the classics explained by Colin McGinn
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P107.M38 2015
Publication Date: 2015

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics by Raj Mesthrie (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P40.C564 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The Cambridge Handbook of Sociolinguistics by Rajend Mesthrie (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011
Sociolinguistics Around the World by Martin J. Ball (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 4th Floor -- P40.S5645 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction by Karen Tracy (Editor-In-Chief); Cornelia Ilie (Associate Editor); Todd Sandel (Associate Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P40.I68 2015
Publication Date: 2015

Reference Material: General Linguistics

Oxford Bibliography - Linguistics
Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Linguistics bibliography is composed of more than 100 subcategories including: sub-fields, language families, people, parts of speech, etc.
Glossary of Linguistics.
Eugene E. Loos (general editor). SIL International.
Lexicon of Linguistics
Utrecht University, (c1996-2001)

Compendium of the World's Languages by George L. Campbell; Gareth King
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013
Includes information/profiles of 342 languages
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2003
The International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 2nd Edition encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics with special attention given to interrelations within branches of linguistics and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
Concise Compendium of the World's Languages by George L. Campbell; Gareth King
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P371.C37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by David Crystal
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2008
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P29.C64 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Keith Brown (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- P29E48 1994
Publication Date: 2005-12-06
14 volumes

Atlas of the World's Languages by Christopher Mosley (Editor); R. E. Asher (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Maps (Oversize) -- P375.A84 1994
ISBN: 0415019257
Publication Date: 1993
The World Atlas of Language Structures by Martin Haspelmath [et al.]
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2005
The Atlas of Languages: the origin and development of languages throughout the world by Bernard Comrie; Stephen Matthews; Maria Polinsky
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- P107.A87 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
The Ethnologue is a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. The Ethnologue Name Index lists over 39,000 language names, dialect names, and alternate names. The Ethnologue Language Family Index organizes languages according to language families.
MLA Language Atlas of the United States.
The MLA Language Map is for students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The Language Map uses aggregated data from the 2006–10 American Community Survey (ACS) to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages commonly spoken in the United States.

Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordreference.com/
Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Resource URL: http://search.credoreference.com/
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. Sage Reference Online is a social science eBook platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content.
Subjects include:
Business & Management
Communication and Media Studies
Counseling and Psychotherapy
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Materials Science
Geography, Earth & Environmental Science
Health and Social Care
History
Life & Biomedical Sciences
Maths, Physics, Chemistry & Computing
Philosophy
Politics & International Relations
Psychology
Research Methods & Evaluation
Sociology

Resource URL: http://sk.sagepub.com/reference
Abbreviation: sro
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
An excellent tool on social science research methods includes over 1000 methods books, 1100 case studies, reference works, journal articles, and instructional video tutorials by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. In addition, the full-text titles from the Sage’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series(“The Little Green Books”) and Qualitative Research Methods Series (The Little Blue Books”) books are available.
Resource URL: http://methods.sagepub.com/
Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is an eBook platform that includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general eBook titles of all disciplines. Designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
Resource URL: https://link.gale.com/apps/GVRL?u=tall85761
Abbreviation: gvrl
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries