Emmett Till Archives

The materials available in this section of the guide represent only a small fraction of the Emmett Till Archives held by Florida State University Special Collections & Archives. These specific materials were selected to provide an introduction to the types of resources available within the Emmett Till Archives. Photos and videos of Till's family and the individuals involved in the trial far outnumber images of Emmett himself. The events surrounding the kidnapping, murder, and trials were covered extensively by the US media and abroad. Articles describing the events were selected from newspapers and magazines from several collections within the Archives. The specific newspapers were chosen to represent distinct audiences to demonstrate the variation in perspective and terminology. 

While the entirety of the Till Archives are available to be viewed in person in the Special Collections Research Center, only some materials are available digitally through DigiNole, the FSU Digital Library. The Till Archives are regularly utilized in collaborative instruction sessions between Special Collections and FSU faculty throughout the university. Please contact lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu if you are interested in utilizing materials from the Emmett Till Archives in your classroom. 

NOTE: Some of the materials in the Emmett Till Archives contain graphic images, contents, and derogatory language that some may find offensive.

Copyright restrictions may apply to works on this guide. Re-use or copying beyond Fair Use may require permission from rights-holders. Please contact lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu for more information.

 If you are a copyright holder and wish your materials removed from this site, please contact lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.