If a scholar forgot their FSU Card and has a temporary card, staff can loan items out to the scholar, by following these steps:
Accepted Forms of Photo ID
Staff can accept any form of officially issued ID which prominently displays both their name and a photo of the cardholder. Most common forms of photo ID would include but are not limited to the following:
Staff can also have the scholar log in to their my.fsu homepage to show their profile, which includes a photo and the name of the scholar, if they do not have any other physical photo ID on them.
First Time Check-Outs & Renewals
This procedure is only for initial checkouts. If a scholar is already in possession of a book, study room key, or item of circulating technology, you do not have to ask for a photo ID. Simply ask for their FSUID and have them tell you their name, then confirm the item in question is currently on loan to their account. Never offer a name to the scholar. Instead, have them tell you their name and confirm it matches the account info in Alma.
FSU Students can print from any of the FSU desktop or laptop computers. Once they click "Print" on their document from one of our desktop computers, a pop-up box will ask for their FSUID. Once they enter that, it will send it to the printing station. At the printing station computer (there are two on the first floor and one on the basement, second, and third floors), they log in with their FSUID and password and swipe their FSUID to pay for it. A list of documents in their queue appears and they select which one they want to print, then grab their documents from the printer. If scholars want to print from their personal laptop, they need to download the printing drivers from the library website and make sure they are connected to FSUSecure. The default printing setting is now double-sided. If scholars don't want that, they have to change that before sending it to the printer.
Printing is .10¢ per black and white page, .25¢ for color. FSU Students can add money to their FSU card through MyFSU's FSUCard link or the FSU Card website (fsucard.fsu.edu/fsucash). There is a $10 minimum to add money online. Unfortunately, the cash machine is no longer operable. There is no way to print if students do not have their FSU IDs.
Visitors cannot print at the libraries.
There are flatbed scanners on the first and basement floor connected to computers for simple single page scans. The KIC Scanner is a multi-page book scanner that is on the first floor to the right of the Scholar Support Desk. You can use the KIC scanner to scan a file, email it to yourself, and print it. Scanning is free. There are copy machines on the basement and second floor. Copying costs the same as printing.
Desk staff cannot help with a scholar's fines. If they mention that the fine is for a book or other material they swear they turned in, you can help them fill out the "Claim Returned" form on the website, found under "Services" and then "All Forms." This form will go to Collections Access and a thorough search will be conducted throughout the library. Collections Access will contact the scholar with their findings.
Not all items may be immediately renewed, and be sure that the scholar has the item in question with them at the time of renewal. Once you've pulled up their account in Alma, simply scan the item in question and it should auto renew the item in question. Pay close attention to any notes that may pop up at the time of renewal as they'll inform you if anything goes wrong. Double check that the due date for the item has changed and inform the scholar of the new due date. If there are ever any issues, grab a Supervisor.
As you're pulling up their account, remind the scholar that they should have received an email detailing the loan and its due date. Once you've pulled up their Alma profile, you may see the due dates of all their active loans under the "Loans" tab. If you don't see any at first, double check that you've selected "All Loans" next to "Loan Display."
Any person from the community can use Strozier's resources in person, regardless of if they graduated from FSU. At the security desk, they will have to give their Driver's License or photo ID and get a guest card. They cannot check out materials, and are only able to use the Research Kiosk computer to access our catalog and online materials. Unfortunately, scholars need to be a current student, faculty, or staff have access to FSU's databases on the Library's website, off campus. However, let them know that FSU's Digital Repository (for theses and dissertations), and Special Collections (a variety of unique materials) are both sites that are accessible to scholars not currently affiliated with the university. If they have their own computer, and come into the building, they can access the FSU Guest WiFi to use the internet.
Unfortunately, we cannot describe the contents of the Lost and Found over the phone for security and privacy reasons. The scholar will have to come in and ask at the security desk. If the scholar is annoyed, emphasize that this is for their own protection and good. They can also check the FSU Lost and Found Website here, where they can put in a report for missing items or look at items already posted on it. Scholars can access that site by googling "FSU Lost and Found", it will be the first link.
Begin by checking to see if you can access the database yourself from the Library website. If it is inaccessible or you encounter an error, then the problem exists outside of our control. Inform a supervisor and they will try to fix or notify others of the problem. If you are able to access the database without issue, double check that the scholar was signed in when trying to access the database in question. If not, demonstrate to the scholar how to navigate the library website and follow the steps that you took. After you've walked them through the process, if the problem persists, direct them to email our Electronic Resource Management team at lib-erm.fsu.edu.
The Reading Writing Center in Strozier Library is located in room 0005C, in the basement, with key access from 5pm-8pm. Most other tutoring happens Sunday-Wednesday, 8pm - midnight at the tables across from Starbucks. However, all tutoring hours and a list of subjects offered is available on the library website under the "Tutoring Information" circle on the homepage.
No, we do not. The UPS store on campus does.
Ask the scholar to wait in line by saying "I'll be with you in just one second. Thank you for your patience." Good customer service means being fair to everyone. It also makes our job (in case there are damages associated with a laptop, etc.) easier, and keeps the desk running smoothly. If they just drop and run, wait until all the scholars in line are helped before checking in the dropped item.
Let them know "You should have received an email saying that your book was ready for pick up, but we can check your account here."They can check their own library account for the status of their requests and should have received an email when the book was ready, which you should remind them after you check their account. After you get their FSUID and name, you can check the status of their request in Alma. If it says, “On Hold Shelf” it is ready for pick up. If it says anything else, it is still in process. Another common question is related to LEDS books. LEDS books are checked out to the scholar before delivery, so will appear under their loans instead of their requests. These books are delivered to the office departmental location found HERE, not individual offices.
Example answer here
Strozier Library does not have a dedicated place to take an Honorlock exam. All of our study rooms have windows and would be a risk to the test. Direct the scholar to Dirac Science Library instead as they have much more stable individual study rooms better suited for Honorlock tests. If they check out a computer for it, make sure to give them a Dell computer.
How to get to the 4th floor?
Use elevator in front entrance lobby.
Lost and Found:
Lost and Found inquires should not be taken over the telephone. MUST be in person. Refer person(s) to the security desk on the second floor.
Vending Machines:
Refer to Business Services email-- obs@fsu.edu, (850) 644-7777.
How to reach Geoset?
geoset@fsu.edu
Example answer here
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706