Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theories of African American Studies

This LibGuide accompanies Dr. Katrinell M. Davis's Fall 2018 Theories of African American Studies (AFA 3101) course, providing various resources to assist throughout the course.

Streaming Video Databases

FSU Libraries offers several streaming video databases that can be utilized for engaging course content.‚Äč

You can find a comprehensive list of all our databases containing streaming video here

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection

Films On Demand logo

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system.

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy logo

Kanopy includes documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies.  Faculty may request titles using the Kanopy request form or by contacting their subject liaison. Licensed titles are available for one year and may be viewed by any FSU user during this time. Licensed videos can be found in the library catalog and can be played in full. 

Note: Unlicensed videos only appear in the Kanopy database and only allow a limited preview. After the limited preview, unlicensed videos will automatically direct you to a request form which will be forwarded to FSU Libraries. 

Swank

Swank Digital Campus logo

Swank Digital Campus’ online streaming service provides access to feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department, including history, literature, social sciences, health science and more. They have exclusive rights to many of Hollywood’s biggest studios, including Paramount, Universal, Sony, Lionsgate, and Warner Bros. Faculty may request titles using the online course reserves request form. Licensed titles are available for one year and may be viewed by any FSU user during this time.

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706