Research Guides: Resources for Masterworks by Women, MUT 5618: Finding books, articles, and more

Music Quick Links

Allen Music Library Home Page

Frequently Used Resources

Academic Search Complete
A general periodical index that includes music and interdisciplinary topics among many others.
Chicago Manual of Style ONLINE
Dissertations and Theses
Google Scholar with FSU full-text links
Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where a student, faculty, or staff of Florida State University may obtain books or obtain photocopies of articles from other institutions.
JStor
Main Campus printing plus print drivers
Download drivers to your computer; you can then send a print job to a campus printer and release it/print it on campus!
Music Index Online
Indexes major music periodicals from 1970 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies
Great resource to target the top readings and resources on specific topics.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Choose "Music"
Oxford Music Online
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
more...less...
Contains Grove Music and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Manual Style
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
The main scholarly index to articles about music.

Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
includes Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed., Grove Opera, and more
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
includes music titles
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Finding books on women composers and women in music

To find FSU owned/licensed books on women composers, you can either search for

Women composers (subject heading search)
composers last name, first name --> choose subject heading
- for example, Beach, H H A Mrs.

Finding journal articles on women composers

Several journals dedicated to women and music exist, for example:

Women & Music: A Journal of Gender and Culture
IAWM Journal (available in print)

Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on a composer by using the composer's name and work title (or genre/instrumentation) in a search.
Abbreviation: musin
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1955–Current
Subjects: Dance, Music
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search RILM for articles (and other scholarly writings) with the composer's name, and possibly the name of a work, or genre/instrumentation (e.g., string quartet).
Abbreviation: rilm
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1923–Current
Subjects: Music, Music Education, Music Therapy
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
Abbreviation: genderwatch
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Communication, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Other excellent resources include:

Dissertations & Theses (Global) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Also see: Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
You have access to:
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Business
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Health & Medicine
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: History
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Literature & Language
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Science & Technology
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Social Sciences
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Arts

Abbreviation: dissertations
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses
Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.
Abbreviation: bakr
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Subjects: Music
Type: Biographies, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Music Online (14 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Covers musical composers, performers, scholars and persons whose contributions are in some way connected to the world of music. Includes 3,000 links to related sites that contain sound archives and illustrations and full-text searching capabilities. Global coverage of articles includes all genres of music from ancient times to the present.
Please note: Oxford Music only allows access for 14 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Abbreviation: grove-music
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Music
Type: Biographies, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Includes music titles too!
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs