Research Guides: Geo 4251: Home

Access StoryMaps

To Access StoryMaps follow these steps:

Go to https://cosspp.maps.arcgis.com and click “Sign In” located in the upper right hand corner
In the new screen click the blue Florida State University button
A login page that looks like when you login to myFSU should appear. Use your myfsu account to login. You will need to use Duo to authenticate.
Once logged in click on the icon that is a square made of smaller squares
Select StoryMaps from the menu

How to Reference Guide from class session
This is a quick reference document for how to use some of the features in SotryMaps that were demonstrated during class with the librarian.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
American Meteorological Society Journals
Contains the full text of journal and bulletin articles published by the American Meteorological Society. The American Meteorological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences and the advancement of their professional applications.
Abbreviation: amsj
Vendor: American Meteorological Society
Coverage: 1944–Current
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, *General Science, Ocean Science
Type: E-Journal Collections

EarthArXiv
A free preprint service for Earth Sciences.

General Science Full Text
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology from 1984—abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage began in 1997.
Abbreviation: gen-sci
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1984–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Earth Science, *General Science, Geology, Human Development & Family Science, Microbiology, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Oceanography, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GeoRef
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are covered—renowned sources for geology and earth science.
Coverage Includes:
- Areal geology
- Economic geology
- Engineering geology
- Environmental geology
- Extraterrestrial geology
- Geochemistry
- Geochronology
- Geophysics
- Hydrogeology and hydrology
Abbreviation: georef
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1669–Current
Subjects: Geology, Oceanography, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

IPCC Data Distribution Centre
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) gathers and provides access to climate, socioeconomic, and environmental data (observed and projected scenarios) that underlie international climate impacts assessments.

ScienceDirect
The electronic full-text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Domains:

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Materials Science
Mathematics
Physics and Astronomy

Tutorials:
Online tutorials

Abbreviation: sciencedirect
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1997–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, *General Science, Anthropology, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Ocean Science, Physics, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections"

OpenSky
OpenSky is an open-access institutional repository supporting UCAR, NCAR, and UCP, extending free and open access to our scholarship to benefit research and education.

Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index—links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Data Sources

National Weather Service - Warning
This page shows active weather warning for the U.S. This website also has a variety of data sets that can be used as supporting evidence. Please poke around and see what you can find.
Southeast River Forecast Center
This website provides river flooding conditions of the South East United States. From this page there are link to different regions of the U.S.
National Hurricane Center Storm Surge Risk Maps
This national depiction of storm surge flooding vulnerability helps people living in hurricane-prone coastal areas. These maps make it clear that storm surge is not just a beachfront problem, with the risk of storm surge extending many miles inland from the immediate coastline in some areas. Storm Surge Risk Maps are provided for the US Gulf and East Coasts, Hawaii, Southern California, US territories - Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, Guam and American Samoa. Additional mapped areas include Hispaniola and parts of the Yucatan Peninsula.
NOAA- Local Tides and Current Map
This map allows you to find various stations across the U.S. to see current tides and current information. When clicking on a station you can see a variety of information and find some historical data under "More Data".
USGS National Water Dashboard
This viewer shows provisional real-time water data collected at USGS observation stations in context with weather-related data from other public sources
NOAA- U.S. Local Climatological Data (LCD)
ocal Climatological Data (LCD) are summaries of climatological conditions from airport and other prominent weather stations managed by NWS, FAA, and DOD. The product includes hourly observations and associated remarks, and a record of hourly precipitation for the entire month. Also included are daily summaries summarizing temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation amounts and winds. The tabulated monthly summaries in the product include maximum, minimum, and average temperature, temperature departure from normal, dew point temperature, average station pressure, ceiling, visibility, weather type, wet bulb temperature, relative humidity, degree days (heating and cooling), daily precipitation, average wind speed, fastest wind speed/direction, sky cover, and occurrences of sunshine, snowfall and snow depth. The source data is global hourly (DSI 3505) which includes a number of quality control checks.

Librarian

Kelly Grove

Email Me

Subjects: Earth Science, Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Geology, Maps, Meteorology, Oceanography

Geo 4251

Access StoryMaps

Databases

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Data Sources

Librarian