Skip to main content

Enslavement and Sharecropping in Florida

Image: George Whitfield's list of enslaved people that he owned in Tallahassee, Florida, 1862.

"List of Negroes," January 1, 1862, Box 517, Folder 1, Whitfield Notebook, MSS 0-261, Florida State University Special Collections & Archives. Note: Image citation reflects the record-naming practices of the creator. 

Available in our digital library at: http://purl.flvc.org/fsu/fd/FSU_MSS_0261_B517_F001_I001.

What's in this guide?

This guide includes primary sources of enslavement and sharecropping created during the 19th and 20th centuries in Florida that can be found in FSU Special Collections and Archives. The goal of this guide is to aid both historical and genealogical research within the Tallahassee locale and surrounding counties. 

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives spaces are closed to the public at this time. For latest updates on SCA public services, please visit our Services Page or contact us at lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Online
lib.fsu.edu/specialcollections
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu
FSU Library Catalog
fsu.catalog.fcla.edu
Use Advanced Search to limit Location to “Strozier, Special Collections”
Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu
FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/digital_library


The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706