Research Guides: HIV/AIDS: Home

Meet Your Librarian!

Kyung Kim

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Department of Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities at Strozier Library

Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Hospitality, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning

Subject Headings for Browsing Books or Searching Databases

Below is a suggested list of the subject headings you can use to search the catalog for books and the databases for journal articles about HIV/AIDS.

HIV antibodies
HIV viruses
AIDS (Disease)
AIDS (Disease) -- Diagnosis
AIDS activists
AIDS (Disease) -- Developing countries
AIDS (Disease) -- Economic aspects
AIDS (Disease) -- Epidemiology
AIDS (Disease) -- Florida
AIDS (Disease) -- Government policy
AIDS (Disease) -- History
AIDS (Disease) in children
AIDS (Disease) in old age
AIDS (Disease) in women
AIDS (Disease) -- Law and legislation -- United States
AIDS (Disease) -- Moral and ethical aspects
AIDS (Disease) -- Patients -- Family relationships
AIDS (Disease) -- Political aspects
AIDS (Disease) -- Prevention
AIDS (Disease) -- Psychological aspects
AIDS (Disease) -- Social aspects
AIDS (Disease) -- Transmission
AIDS (Disease) -- Treatment

Do a Subject search at the OneSearch. Sort the results by the Date --Newest to see the new books first from the results display.

Step 1. Some databases have Thesaurus for exploring the subject terms. Click on the Thesaurus from the database landing page> type in a keyword(s)> select Terms Contains > click on [Browse] button> select the term(s) from the display> connect the subject terms using OR, AND or NOT > then click on the [Search] button on the top.

Step 2. On the results page, the selected subject term is automatically added to the search row. Limit your results by Scholarly or Peer Reviewed Journals.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Ageline
(1978 - Present)
AgeLine contains citations and abstracts of books, journals, research reports, consumer guides, and book chapters from 1978 - date.
Aids & Cancer Research
Literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics from 1982 to present.
CINAHL with full-text
The CINAHL database covers nursing and allied health literature from 1982 to the present.
CQ Researcher
Description: Provides in-depth reports on current events and topics of current interest. Each report provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, and a substantial bibliography. CQ Researcher addresses a wide range of topics including legal, political, and social issues, communication and mass media, health, education, science, and technology. Coverage is from 1923 to the present.
DynaMed
A database by medical topic or condition with links to sentinel articles and includes: description, ICD-9 Codes, etiology, diagnosis, treatment and patient information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
ProQuest Congressional
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts more than 160,000 criminal justice publications including: federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, unpublished research. Includes a full text subset of more than 1,500 publications on this site and from NCJRS partner agency web sites.
Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
PsycINFO
Description: Online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
SAGE Criminology Full-Text Collection
Sage: Sociology Full-Text Collection
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full-text of 33 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years, encompassing over 12,700 articles. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies).
Social Sciences Full-text
Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations from 1983-Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage begins in January 1995.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development from 1980-
Sociological Abstracts
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies. From 1963-
Virology & AIDS Abstracts
(1982 - present)
Provides comprehensive coverage of every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants from 1982- present.
Web of Science

Websites

The Body- the Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Contains information and fosters communication. Its Board of Advisors includes many doctors in the field
HIV InSite Gateway to HIV and AIDS
University of California, San Francisco
"Comprehensive up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California San Francisco" Site also includes data and country information
HIV/ AIDS
The Henry J. Kaiser Foundation. This site has also has a lot of data resources
HIV/Aids
Mayo Clinic
HIV Surveillance Reports
The annual HIV Surveillance Report provides an overview on the current epidemiology of HIV disease in the United States