Skip to Main Content

Rare Book Collections

An introduction to the major rare book collections held in FSU Special Collections & Archives

Tracy W. McGregor Collection on the Discovery and Exploration of the Americas

undefined

Exquemelin, A. O. (Alexandre Olivier). Bucaniers of America, or, a True Account of the Most Remarkable Assaults Committed of Late Years upon the Coasts of the West Indies. Printed for William Crooke, 1684. https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FSU/pag4dr/alma990271143470306576.

This collection of Renaissance travel and early Americana was developed in the 1930s at the Florida State College for Women through the “McGregor Plan for the Encouragement of Book Collecting by American College Libraries.” Named for book collector and philanthropist Tracy W. McGregor (1869-1936), the Plan sought to enhance the research collections of 16 college libraries throughout the United States. Over the six-year plan, FSCW acquired several hundred works on exploration, the American Colonial Revolutionary and post-Revolutionary periods, early narrative depictions of Native Americans, and Floridiana. Collection highlights include 10 volumes printed by Theodore de Bry (1591-1601), a Mercator atlas (1630), and an original edition of Louis de Onís’s account of the Adams-Onís Treaty (1820).

Locating Materials in the McGregor Collection

Steps for searching the McGregor Collection:

  1. Open the library catalog Advanced Search
  2. Type “McGregor Collection” in the keyword box, including quotes
  3. Select “Strozier, Special Collections” from the Location drop-down menu
  4. Click “Search”

Collection Highlights

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Strozier, Special Coll"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

SPRING 2023: All visits to the reading room are by appointment only

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Rare Books Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Duke
Contact:
Special Collections
Strozier Library
(850) 644-1967
Social: Twitter Page
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706