Research Guides: Intercultural Communication: Home

Background Information & Overview

Search reference databases or web resources on countries and cultures

CIA World Factbook Contains brief information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information are updated annually so the information is very current.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window This database combines many of CQ's most well-known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
Tutorials:
Overview (04:03)

Abbreviation: cq
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1923–Current
Subjects: Communication, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health
Type: Directories, Government Publications, Reports
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. (Human Relations Area Files)
See also: eHRAF Archaeology

Abbreviation: ehrafa
Vendor: Yale University
Subjects: Anthropology, Classics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Use the following subject terms for a subject search,
or combine the subject term with keywords of your choice.

[Subject Terms]

Cross-cultural studies
Cultural Pluralism
Cultural Relations
Culture Diffusion
Intercultural Communication
Intergroup Relations

[Keywords Search]

Communication AND Culture
Communication AND International
Cultural Sensitivity AND Communication
Cultural Awareness AND Communication
Cultural Differences AND Communication

Go to Find & Borrow page to learn how to get books
not available at the FSU Libraries

Use the subject terms for a database search.

[Databases]

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Social Science Premium Collection
APA PsycINFO
Academic Search Complete
Ethnic NewsWatch
Access World News
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Google Scholar

Go to Database A-Z Finder

Journals

[Journals]
Browse the Table of Contents of a journal to explore your research topic

Communication, Culture & Critique
Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies
Human Relations
Intercultural Communication Studies
International Journal of Intercultural Relations
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology
Journal of Intercultural Communication Research
Journal of Intercultural Communication
Journal of Intercultural Studies
Journal of International and Intercultural Communication
QED: A Journal in GLBTQ Worldmaking

[At OneSearch]

[At a Database Search]

Open Educational Resources (OER) Books

Internationalizing “International Communication”
By Lee, C-C., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, 2015. Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-NoDerivatives License.
Interpersonal Communication: A Mindful Approach to Relationships
By Jason S. Wrench, Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter and Katherine S. Thweatt. Milne Open Textbooks (Open SUNY Textbooks).

Associations

Books

The Cambridge Handbook of Intercultural Communication by Guido Rings (Editor); Sebastian Rasinger (Editor) A highly interdisciplinary overview of the wide spectrum of current international research and professional practice in intercultural communication, this is a key reference book for students, lecturers and professionals alike. Key examples of contrastive, interactive, imagological and interlingual approaches are discussed, as well as the impact of cultural, economic and socio-political power hierarchies in cultural encounters, essential for contemporary research in critical intercultural communication and postcolonial studies. The Handbook also explores the spectrum of professional applications of that research, from intercultural teaching and training to the management of culturally mixed groups, facilitating use by professionals in related fields. Theories are introduced systematically using ordinary language explanations and examples, providing an engaging approach to readers new to the field. Students and researchers in a wide variety of disciplines, from cultural studies to linguistics, will appreciate this clear yet in-depth approach to an ever-evolving contemporary field.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020

Intercultural Communication

Communication Librarian

Related Guides

Helpful Resources for IDS2460 (Fall, 2022)