Research Guides: Public Relations: Home

Suggested Keywords

Public Relations
Publicity
Public Opinion
Publicity -- Moral and ethical aspects
Corporate Communication
Corporate Image
Social Responsibility of Business
Corporate Social Responsibility
Communication in Management
Communication in Marketing
Communication in Politics
Crisis Management -- Public Relations
Crisis Communication

Call Numbers

The Library of Congress (LC) Classification for call numbers represent the subject of the book. The majority of the "public relations" books are located on the 3rd floor at Strozier. Addtional materials, such as reference books and documents will be found on the ground floor.

HD 49-49.5 Crisis Management -- Emergency Management
HD 58.7-58.95 Organizational Behavior
HD 59-59.6 Public Relations (formerly HM 263)
HD 60-60.5 Social Responsibility of Business

Books

Crisis Communication by Finn Frandsen (Editor); Winni Johansen (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783110552287
Publication Date: 2020-08-24
An Overview of the Public Relations Function by Shannon A. Bowen
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Public Relations and Sustainable Citizenship by Debashish Munshi; Priya Kurian
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Public Relations Ethics by Trevor Morris; Simon Goldsworthy
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781003107491
Publication Date: 2021
Sport Public Relations and Communication by Maria Hopwood; James Skinner; Paul Kitchin
Call Number: GV714 .H66 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Women in PR History by Anastasios Theofilou (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020-12-29

News and Press Releases

Wall Street Journal An indispensable source for business professionals, providing business and financial news coverage, personal and company profiles, feature reporting, special reports, and regular columns.
ABI/Inform Dateline Covers more than 140 local, city, state, and regional business publications as well as business-oriented newswire services across the U.S.

News Databases

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources including the Miami Herald (5/19/82–Current), Orlando Sentinel (4/1/85–Current), and USA Today (7/1/87–Current). Also includes: Access Business News, Access International News, Access Military, Government, and Defense, Access Newswires & Transcripts, and Acceda Noticias.
Log into NewsBank and create an account to save your search history, save articles, save searches, and create Email alerts.

To Create an Alert
- Enter a search that you're interested in.
- On the results page click on Set up an Alert.
- Choose to create the alert as a registered user or without registering.
- Specify the frequency by which you'd like to receive your alerts.
- If there are new results, NewsBank will send them to you in an email.
Please note that FSU does not having a data-mining subscription with Newsbank. Downloading entire series or papers is prohibited.

Abbreviation: awn
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1903–Current
Subjects: Communication, Hospitality
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

PR Databases

Business Insights This link opens in a new window Provides company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and industry news and information from 1980- (Business and Company Resource Center with PROMT, Newsletters, and Investext Plus).
Abbreviation: bcrc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs, Newspapers and Newswires, Reports
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 1100 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5-year forecasts. The US Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as pawn shops, boat insurance companies, air gun manufacturers and circus operators.
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Industries covered include:
Automotive
Beauty
Consumer Electronics
Digital Media
Drink
Financial Services
Food
Foodservice
Health & Wellness
Household
Personal Care
Packaging
Retail
Sport & Entertainment Travel & Tourism

Tutorials:
Interactive Databook Training (10:39)
A 10-minute tutorial video on how to navigate Interactive Databook, how to explore demographics, and customize your own consumer data report.

Abbreviation: mintel
Vendor: Mintel International Group
Coverage: 2001–Current
Subjects: Business, Communication, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Reports

Journal Articles and Trade Articles

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full-text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields. Content includes more than 440 full-text journals, Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 670 journals, and 5,500 author profiles.
Abbreviation: cmmc
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Marketing
Type: E-Journal Collections
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Documents in ABI/INFORM Collection (the most comprehensive version of ABI/INFORM) number over 40 million. Over 90% of the articles can be found right in the database. For the remaining 10%, summaries and links to other resources are provided. Publications are precisely indexed and various search aids and tools are provided in the ProQuest platform to help users find information. Tools for citation generation, emailing and printing articles of interest are also provided on the platform.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports

Journals and Trade Magazines

Journal of Public Relations Research
Public Opinion Quarterly
Public Relations Review
Public Relations Tactics (1994-2017)
Public Relations Strategies & Tactics (2018 - )
The Public Relations Strategist (2004 - 2017)
The Holmes Report
PR Museum
PR News
PRWeek
Journal of Corporate Citizenship (2001-2017)

PR Associations

Florida Public Relations Association Tallahassee Student Chapter is available for FSU students.
Public Relations Society of America PRSA offers a North Florida Chapter.
Public Relations Student Society of America For students nationwide interested in PR and communication.
International Public Relations Association IPRA delivers benefits to its public relations practitioners and communications professionals in three ways: professional, financial, and intellectual. --website
International Association of Business Communicators Chapters are available in Central Florida and Tampa Bay area. IABC student chapter available as well.

Websites

Council of Public Relations Firms Over 100 PR firms are members of the Council.
Entrepreneur.com Entrepreneur provides links to articles on getting press, PR basics and public speaking
Institute for Public Relations "As an independent nonprofit, the Institute for Public Relations answers the need for evidence and accountability by fueling the science beneath the art of public relations" -- website
Pew Research Center for the People & the Press The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is a public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
PR Week The companion website for PRWeek Magazine
PRaxis - The Public Relations Resource Centre PRaxis offers lists and links to PR topics, such as: PR associations, case studies, PR writing and much more.
Public Relations Society of America "PRSA provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds principles of ethics for its members" -- website
Public Relations, Media Relations and Reputation Management Provides general sources, such as books and links to other websites.
SourceWatch Case Studies A list of PR case studies.
SpinWatch Monitoring PR and spin.
The Center for Media and Democracy's PR Watch The Center for Media and Democracy (CMD) is a non-profit investigative reporting group who focuses on exposing corporate spin and government propaganda.
The Museum of Public Relations Learn about the history of the first PR pioneers.

PR Blogs

Daily' Dog The Bulldog Reporter's Daily Dog is a source for PR views, news, and tools.
p.s. Peter Shankman Shankman is recognized for his views on social media, PR, marketing, advertising, and customer service.
The Future Buzz Future Buzz has a section for digital marketing and PR.
PR-Squared Concentrates on the issues surrounding social media.
Brian Solis Business, marketing, and PR blog by renowned author, Brian Solis.

Public Relations

Research Tip

Related Guides

Communication Librarian