Resources for Psychology of Music, MUS5616

Frequently Used Resources (in order of relevance)

Looking for articles on music education or music therapy topics?  These databases will help you find it:

• PsycInfo indexes articles in psychology, but also related fields such as music education and music therapy.  You can use the "Methodology" option under "limit your results" to search for articles using specific kinds of research methodolgies (e.g. emperical, literature review, qualitative, quantitative). Be sure to scroll down the page to get to it!
  
  
• PsycArticles includes full-text of APA journals, plus journals in other relevant subject areas.
  
  
• Music Index Online indexes music periodicals from all over. While abstracts are not available, the subject headings are music specific (and "friendlier" to those doing music education research at the graduate level for the first time).

• ERIC indexes articles and more in Education.
  
  
• Educators Reference Complete contains journal articles and reports; calls itself a complement to ERIC.

• Education Index and Education Full Text also indexes articles and more in Education.  Some overlap with ERIC.

How to cite articles using APA style:

• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed. Music Ref. BF76.7 .P83 2010
• Purdue Online Writing Lab: APA Format

• Arts in Psychotherapy
• Journal of Music Therapy
• Music Therapy (1981-1996; ceased publication after 1996)
• Music Therapy Perspectives

More journal titles are available too; here's an FSU library catalog search for music therapy periodicals.