Research Guides: MAR5125 Marketing Strategy in the Global Environment: Group Project: Country, Market & Industry

Websites for Country Information

CIA World Factbook
Contains brief information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information are updated annually so the information is very current.
GlobalEDGE
From Michigan State University. Offers original information as well as links to trusted sites. Comprehensive in scope, it also contains excellent country information. Click "Country Insights" and choose your country by region.
NationMaster
A collection of world statistics. Search by categories or countries to see rankings in over 5000 categories. See which country has the most soldiers or is the most generous or drinks the most bottled water.
One World: Nations Online
An ongoing project to promote world understanding and sharing of cultures, the One world Website contains basic information on countries as well as valuable links to nations' newspapers, government agencies, city populations, etc...

Databases for Country Information

CountryWatch
Political and economic surveys and on-line updates of the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental news for each of the countries of the world.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics. Also called Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Also called Academic Universe.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Once in Business Source Complete, select the "Country Reports" link in the blue menu on the right side of the screen. Enter your country name, and you will get a variety of results such as county profile, county review, and country monitor of a foreign market.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886-Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global connects business researchers with more of the scholarly information that they need. ABI/INFORM Global contains the full text of thousands of journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals. Researchers increasingly need more than just scholarly journals to conduct their research thoroughly and effectively. This is why we have made it easy for them to access thousands of dissertations, working papers, reports, news sources, and much more.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: abi-global
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, MIS: Management Information Systems, Real Estate, Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Market & Industry Research Reports on Tourism

Databases:

1. Business Source Complete database
Use a specialized search interface for market research reports and country reports.

Click on Market Research Reports on the box, then type in Tourism and select "By Title, Subject & Description" and hit Enter for the "Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook"

2. IBISWorld
Industry reports: "Tourism in the US"
Statistics: Inbound trips by non-US residents, International trips by US residents, domestic trips by US residents, consumer spending

3. ABI/INFORM Complete
Click on Business Monitor International Industry Reports (under Industry & Market Research) > click on Tourism to find tourism reports of 15 different countries or regions (e.g., Baltics Tourism Report, UK Tourism Report, etc.). The reports include SWOT, industry forecast, market overviews and other information on the industry.

4. Plunkett Research
Industry reports: Travel industry
Market research & trends, industry associations & statistics.

Tourism Related Data

The US National Tourism Office Travel & Tourism Indicators (from International Trade Administration)
Office of Travel & Tourism Industries (from ITA)
Inbound Travel to the US & Outbound Travel from the US
Market Research includes Country of Origin profiles, international forecast, monthly spending, monthly statistics, etc.
The Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index 2013 Data Analyzer (from World Economic Forum)
World Travel & Tourism Council Economic Research
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
Official statistical organizations of a foreign country is also a good place to gather data on the foreign market