Research Guides: CTE 3809 Trend Analysis and Forecasting: Home

Home

Emily Mann- FSU Libraries

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management

welcome

Welcome this page was created to assist you in market research for CTE 3809

Company Research

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886-Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.
Abbreviation: demnow
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Geography, Hospitality, Public Health
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Maps

Trend Forcasting

WGSN This link opens in a new window
WGSN (Worth Global Style Network) is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. Keywords: Trade Shows, Marketing, Retail, Celebrity, Buying, Visual, Merchandising, Business.
Note: FSU has access to the Fashion Module.

Abbreviation: wgsntex
Vendor: WGSN
Subjects: Business, Interior Design, Marketing, Retail Entrepreneurship
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Women's Wear Daily (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Women's Wear Daily (WWD) delivers fashion and retail news, photography, analysis, in-depth features, profiles, opinions and coverage of the rich social and cultural scene that revolves around the fashion sector.
Note: there is a 5 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: wwd
Vendor: Fairchild Publishing, LLC
Coverage: One year before today's date.
Subjects: Business, Marketing, Retail Entrepreneurship
Type: Biographies, Images

Citation

WGSN does not have built in citation tools. There is not an official APA format for forecasts but several suggestions. Confirm with your professor and most importantly be consistant.

APA format for news, blogs, or trend forecasts:

Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article. WGSN. Retrieved from URL

Author Last Name, First Initial. (year, month day). Title of forecast (edition). Retrieved from database name.

example:

Cheung, P. (2018, March 26). Spinexpo Shanghai S/S 19. WGSN. Retreieved from https://www-wgsn-com.ezproxy.library.fsu.org/fashion/

Cheung, P. (2018, March 26(. Spinexpo Shanghai S/S 19. Retrieved from WGSN.

APA format for images:

Creator Last Name, First Initial. (Creation Date). Title of work [Format]. Retrieved Date from URL

example:

Frankie & Clo. (n.d.). FrankieandClo_LauraPalm_12 [Bitmap, Vertical]. Retrieved March 26, 2018 from https://www-wgsn-com.ezproxy.library.fsu.org/fashion/

More details can be found here and here

Get Help Now

Newspapers and Magazines

The New York Times
no Images
The New York Times Style Magazine
minimum free articles
Harper's Bazaar
no images
Vogue
no images

Websites

Fasion Inforamtion
On-line Forecast, Trend Reporting & News Service
FarFetch
British fashion forcasting website