Skip to main content

Library Resources for FSU Musicologists: Home

Music Quick Links

Frequently Used Resources (in order of relevance)

Welcome!

Greetings! I've collected a few links for your perusing pleasure. Consider this a selective, not comprehensive list of resources related to research in music at FSU (and elsewhere). 

Questions? Please ask! We're here to help you!

Special Collections

The Allen Music Library has a small, but select Special Collections. Many of the items (rare books, early editions of scores, expensive facsimiles) are cataloged and listed in the FSU library catalog. Other items, such as manuscript and sheet music collections, are listed in finding aids on our Special Collections web page.

Looking for a paper topic? Or perhaps a thesis or dissertation topic? Our Special Collections may hold the key for you.

A few personal favorites:

  • Beethoven, Ludwig van. Sinfonie no. 9, op. 125: Autograph, Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Beethoven-Haus Bonn, Bibliothèque nationale de France. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 2010. Allen Music Library Special Collections ML96.5.B44S95 op.125 2010
  • Il codice Squarcialupi: Ms. Mediceo Palatino 87, Biblioteca laurenziana di Firenze. [facsimile] Firenze: Giunti Barbèra; [Lucca]: Libreria musicale italiana, c1992. Allen Music Library Special Collections M2 .S6857 1992
  • The Eton Choirbook Facsimile and Introductory Study by Magnus Williamson. Oxford, England: DIAMM Publications, c2010. Allen Music Library Special Collections ML96.4.E86 2010
  • Heinichen, Johann David (1683-1729). Der General-Bass in der Composition. Dresden, 1728. Allen Music Library Special Collections MT 49 .A2 H47 (Allen Forte Treatise Collection)
  • Rameau, Jean-Philippe (1683-1764). Traité de l'Harmonie réduite à ses principes naturels. Paris, 1722. Allen Music Library Special Collections MT 50 .R1713 1722 (Allen Forte Treatise Collection)

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Laura Gayle Green
Contact:
Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306
850-644-3999
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact
Subjects:Music
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706