The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is another excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.
One way to identify key collections is through CRL Topic Guides.
The following databases and websites are listed in Alphabetical order. I recommend beginning your research with a subject-specific database/resource (for example, MLA or Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts). If that does not yield as many leads as you would like, I would then try a broader, more interdisciplinary resource, such a JSTOR, Project Muse, or Academic Search Complete.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The Ethnologue website is the online companion to a comprehensive reference volume that has been cataloging all known living languages since 1951.
Click on the "i" icon for further information
- Humanities & Social Science Full Text (Plus Retrospective)
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
"[D]irectory of 'all' the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet. It is a resource intended for translators, linguists, language students and all those interested in foreign languages."
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
- Literature Resource Center
- MLA Bibliography
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present.
Provides indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals from H.W. Wilson General Science Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, Readers' Guide Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts, and many other Wilson databases. Coverage is from 1994-present.
- Oxford's Electronic Enlightenment
Provides online, full-text searching and access to over 55,000 letters produced by 6,500 correspondents throughout Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century. Documentation is provided in many different languages
- Project MUSE
Provides full text access to 200+ scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture, society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine, etc.
- Three Percent Translation Database
Records new translations of fiction and poetry published or distributed in the U.S. since January 1st, 2008. The data is presented in annual cumulations.
- UNESCO's Index Translationum
This online database of books translated in the world was created in 1932. It contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States in all disciplines.
- UNESCO's Site on Endangered Languages