Research Guides: *Modern Languages: Background Information

Reference: Literature (General)

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400-Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry has an extensive bibliography that includes primary sources and secondary sources.
Tutorials:
User Guide (pdf)

Abbreviation: jhlit
Vendor: Johns Hopkins University Press
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter

Literary Theory and Criticism: an Oxford Guide by Patricia Waugh (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PN86.L555 2006
Publication Date: 2007

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video
Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. Sage Reference Online is a social science book platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE book and reference content.
Subjects include:
Business & Management
Communication and Media Studies
Counseling and Psychotherapy
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Materials Science
Geography, Earth & Environmental Science
Health and Social Care
History
Life & Biomedical Sciences
Maths, Physics, Chemistry & Computing
Philosophy
Politics & International Relations
Psychology
Research Methods & Evaluation
Sociology

Abbreviation: sro
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general titles of all disciplines. Designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
Abbreviation: gvrl
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter

Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.

Abbreviation: brc
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Biographies
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources. This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Abbreviation: biog
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Biographies

Reference: Linguistics (General)

Oxford Bibliography - Linguistics
Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Linguistics bibliography is composed of more than 100 subcategories including: sub-fields, language families, people, parts of speech, etc.
Glossary of Linguistics.
Eugene E. Loos (general editor). SIL International.
Lexicon of Linguistics
Utrecht University, (c1996-2001)

Compendium of the World's Languages by George L. Campbell; Gareth King
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013
Includes information/profiles of 342 languages
Concise Compendium of the World's Languages by George L. Campbell; Gareth King
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P371.C37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by David Crystal
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by Keith Brown (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- P29E48 1994
Publication Date: 2005-12-06
14 volumes
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William J. Frawley (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2003
The International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 2nd Edition encompasses the full range of the contemporary field of linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics with special attention given to interrelations within branches of linguistics and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Reference -- P29.C64 1997
Publication Date: 1997

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
The Ethnologue is a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. The Ethnologue Name Index lists over 39,000 language names, dialect names, and alternate names. The Ethnologue Language Family Index organizes languages according to language families.
MLA Language Atlas of the United States.
The MLA Language Map is for students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The Language Map uses aggregated data from the 2006–10 American Community Survey (ACS) to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages commonly spoken in the United States.

The Atlas of Languages: the origin and development of languages throughout the world by Bernard Comrie; Stephen Matthews; Maria Polinsky
Call Number: FSU Remote Storage 2 -- P107.A87 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Atlas of the World's Languages by Christopher Mosley (Editor); R. E. Asher (Editor)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Maps (Oversize) -- P375.A84 1994
ISBN: 0415019257
Publication Date: 1993
The World Atlas of Language Structures by Martin Haspelmath [et al.]
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2005

Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains over 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian, and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas. Subject coverage is especially diverse and equipped to address all key disciplines.
Abbreviation: credo
Vendor: Credo Reference
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Streaming Video
Sage Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. Sage Reference Online is a social science book platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE book and reference content.
Subjects include:
Business & Management
Communication and Media Studies
Counseling and Psychotherapy
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Education
Engineering & Materials Science
Geography, Earth & Environmental Science
Health and Social Care
History
Life & Biomedical Sciences
Maths, Physics, Chemistry & Computing
Philosophy
Politics & International Relations
Psychology
Research Methods & Evaluation
Sociology

Abbreviation: sro
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Indexes / Catalogs
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
An excellent tool on social science research methods includes over 1000 methods books, 1100 case studies, reference works, journal articles, and instructional video tutorials by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. In addition, the full-text titles from the Sage’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series(“The Little Green Books”) and Qualitative Research Methods Series (The Little Blue Books”) books are available.
Abbreviation: srmo
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Communication, Rhetoric & Composition, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Research Starter, Streaming Video
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general titles of all disciplines. Designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
Abbreviation: gvrl
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

*Modern Languages

Humanities Librarian

Ask a Librarian

Reference: Literature (General)

Reference: Linguistics (General)