Gun Violence and Gun Control

• CQ Researcher database, and find the related reports:
  • Gun Violence (2022) | Gun Control (2021) | School Safety (2019) | Guns on Campus (2017) 
• Issues & Controversies series in Credo Reference database
  • Gun Control: Issue Overview (2019)
  • Gun Control Laws: Should the United States Adopt Stronger Gun Control Laws? (2019)
  • Not a part of the Issues & Controversies, but within the Credo Reference database
    available are articles on the Second Amendment
• Gun Violence in America (2022), a report from Everytown for Gun Safety 
• Kleck, G. (2021). Research: Guns and Crime. in the Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice 
• "The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Rights and Gun Control in the United
  States" for short articles on various issues
• Books on the topic
  • Shots in the Dark by 
  • Check the "Books, Articles & Databases" page of this research guide for search tip

For the news, and the current status of the laws and policies:

• News articles on the topic
  • Web search engines 
            To find the related laws, use "gun control laws" or other related terms
    • E.g., "These are the gun control laws passed in 2022 so far" (from CNN.com)
  • News databases
    • E.g., U.S. Major Dailies database to search The New York Times, Washington
      Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal all at once. 
• Policies and data
  • Gun Policy in America (from RAND)
• Advocacy groups for breaking news, grassroots movements, and quick stats & infographics
  • Check the Organizations page of this research guide