Research Guides: Accounting: Accounting Department

Accounting Department

FSU Accounting Department

Business Librarian

Trip Wyckoff

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management

Welcome!

This guide provides links to practical resources for researching accounting. The guide is divided into sections based on what kinds of information are needed.

If you would like more help, or help planning search strategies, contact the Business Librarian whose contact information is on the left.

Best Bets

Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint Edge provides access to the full text of federal, state and financial estate information, including tax laws, regulations, and cases. Tax archives back to 1990.
Tutorials:
Quick Reference (20 page pdf)

Abbreviation: checkpt
Vendor: Thomson Reuters
Coverage: 1990–Current
Subjects: Accounting, Law
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications
VitalLaw (register with FSU email address for access) This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw provides expert content drawn from over 1,200 practitioners and 99 Am Law 100 firms. Advanced browsing, searching, and collaborating capabilities are included and the Practical Content Dashboard ensures quick, efficient access to more than 20,000 practical content tools and documents. Covering 16 practice areas, VitalLaw's in-depth expertise and analysis ensure you have what you need to proceed quickly—with actionable insights that lead to better outcomes.
Current Practice Areas Include:
- Antitrust & Competition
- Banking & Consumer Finance
- Bankruptcy
- Cybersecurity & Privacy
- Elder & Estates
- Energy and Environment
- Family Health
- Intellectual Property
- Labor & Employment
- Litigation
- Products Liability & Insurance
- Property & Construction
- Securities & Corporate
- Tax
- Transportation
Other Expert Content:
- Blue Chip
- Employee Benefits
- Government Contracts
- Health Reform
- Human Resources
- Life Sciences
- Payroll & Entitlements
- Pension
- Practice of Law
- Telecommunications
Abbreviation: vitlaw
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Law, Public Health
Type: Government Publications

Key Article Databases

Article Databases

Highlight new and forthcoming standards and anticipate impact on the industry
Demonstrate how a new or amended accounting standard changes the required disclosure
Provide analysis of a standard's application, including examples

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Accounting peer-reviewed major journals in full-text and PDF.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Documents in ABI/INFORM Collection (the most comprehensive version of ABI/INFORM) number over 40 million. Over 90% of the articles can be found right in the database. For the remaining 10%, summaries and links to other resources are provided. Publications are precisely indexed and various search aids and tools are provided in the ProQuest platform to help users find information. Tools for citation generation, emailing and printing articles of interest are also provided on the platform.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Accounting

Accounting Department

Business Librarian

Welcome!

Best Bets

Key Article Databases

Related Links