ASFA Databases: ASFA Databases

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) is an abstracting and indexing service covering the world's literature on the science, technology, management, and conservation of marine, brackish water, and freshwater resources and environments, including their socio-economic and legal aspects.

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources comprehensively covers all aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments. It includes information on the biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socio-economic issues.

A linked index of over 900 international scholarly journals and other publications. It covers many physical and chemical oceanography and limnology topics, marine geophysics, geochemistry and geology, marine technology, ocean policy, and nonliving resources.

This database is devoted exclusively to research and policy on the pollution, contamination, and public health effects of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.

Marine and freshwater aquaculture abstracts. Aquaculture-related information focuses on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records provided comprehensive details on cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackish water species.

Marine biotechnology, molecular biology, and molecular genetics. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations, and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.