Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biblical Studies

A guide to resources for Biblical Studies

Find Bibles on the Shelves

Most biblical texts are available in the main collection on the 2nd floor of Strozier Library. Some may be available in the Reference or Oversized collections in the Scholars Commons or in Special Collections.

Browse the stacks in these call numbers

  • BS1-2970   The Bible
  • BS11-115   Early versions (complete text)
  • BS125-355   Modern texts and versions (complete text)
    • BS125-198   English
  • BS701-1830   Old Testament
    • BS705-815   Early versions
    • BS825-1013   Modern texts and versions
  • BS1901-2970   New Testament
    • BS1937-2020   Early texts and versions
    • BS2025-2213   Modern texts and versions

Biblical texts in FSU Special Collections

The Carothers Collection includes numerous early printed Bibles. Published in various countries and languages, the Bibles in this collection offer a look at the print history of the Bible. See the guide to Rare Books Collections (linked below) for more information about this collection and other rare books at FSU Libraries.

FSU Special Collections & Archives also houses other biblical texts in facsimile:

Digital Facsimilies and Online Texts

A selection of digitized Bible manuscripts, papyri and other sacred texts made available by libraries and collections worldwide.

Original Language Texts

A selection of biblical texts in the original languages available from FSU Libraries.  Click the to view availability in the catalog.

Guide Authors

This guide was originally authored by Jane Pinzino in 2015. It is currently maintained by Adam Beauchamp.
 

Except where otherwise noted, the content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Creative Commons icon 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706