Online Music Resources Quick Guide: Journal Articles

JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.

Music Index with Full Text covers every aspect of classical and popular music. In addition to full-text journals, it includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database indexes around 400 scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more; drawing from both current files and selected back files to 1864. Over 160 full-text publications are included.

Provides access to the full text of more than 700 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, and sociology.

A global, multidimensional resource for music researchers with content spanning dozens of counties and languages. Full-text coverage includes articles and reviews as well as obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, and news, published from the early 20th century to the present. Subject areas include musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, and all other disciplines related to music.

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text is the only extensive collection available online for music periodicals dating from the Early Romantic to the Modern period, from Beethoven to Bartók and from Schubert to Stravinsky. This full-text database is a unique collection of primary source periodicals for the study of music and musical life from 1760 to 1966. It provides complete runs of numerous periodicals pieced together from many different libraries.