Research Guides: PSB2000: Finding Articles

FSU Onesearch

When you search in the box at lib.fsu.edu homepage, you are using FSU OneSearch, This shows you all of the available journals, eBooks, etc. in the library collection pertaining to your topic. To make sure that you are getting back peer-reviewed information, use the "Limit To" box and select "Peer Reviewed" as pictured below.

Key Resources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. To limit to reviews, under document type, select "review."
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Be sure to limit to "peer review" underneath the keyword boxes.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed links to full-text articles to which FSU has a subscription. Limit to "Review" or "Systematic Review" in the far left column once you get your results.
Subjects:
clinical medicine
dentistry
education
experimental medicine
health services administration
nursing
nutrition
pathology
psychiatry
toxicology
veterinary medicine

Tutorials:
User Guide

Abbreviation: medline-pm
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Coverage: 1965-Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable, full-text access to original scholarly review articles. These review articles provide periodic examination of scholarly advances in a number of scientific fields as well as reviews of the current state of research in a field. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics. You do not need to add additional criteria because these are reviews.
Tutorials:
Website guided tour
The timeline below shows when specific topics are covered in the video.

00:00-00:46 min. - Annual Reviews Homepage and Login
00:47-01:15 min. - My Account Features
01:16-02:11 min. - Homepage Browse Features and Access Icons
02:12-02:30 min. - Journals Tab (Browse)
02:31-04:21 min. - Journal Homepage Features
04:22-05:13 min. - Table of Contents Page Features
05:14-05:42 min. - Abstract Page Features
05:43-06:41 min. - Full-Text Journal Page Features
06:42-08:45 min. - Content Box Features (Figures and References)
08:46-09:02 min. - Search Features
09:03-09:48 min. - Search Results Page and Filtering Options

Annual Reviews Mobile App

Abbreviation: annrev
Vendor: Annual Reviews
Coverage: 1932–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Economics, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Historical / Primary Sources

Google Scholar
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
Navigate to: http://scholar.google.com
Select the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
Select 'Library links.'
Type 'Florida State University' in the box that appears.
Click on the blue Search button.
Click on the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU"
Select 'Save' . Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron.

Finding Review Articles

In review articles you will find works that review, critique, and synthesize representative literature on a topic. It is a good place to learn about the topic and the most relevant publications on the topic.

Review articles typically (but not always) contain the word "review" or "literature review" in their titles.

To find review articles in STEM literature, try

1. Google Scholar
2. Article Databases, and/or
3. Annual Reviews journal collection

In Google Scholar, add "intitle:review" to limit to review articles. You will still need to read the document to determine if it is truly a review article.