FSU provides a wide variety of access points for datasets, but there are also many openly available data sources for GIS data found on the web. This section of the guide contains a variety of databases for finding GIS data, but it is not exhaustive.
In general, when searching for GIS data on Google you may want to search for what kind of data you want and include raster or vector (shapefile) data to help locate a helpful format.
Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation.
Discover international repositories and their deposited data studies, data sets, using the Thomson Reuters value add indexing:
Abbreviation: wokdci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1900–Current
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Indexes / Catalogs
2010 Summary File (SF1) in 2000 Boundaries: Provides the same variables and all of the same details about the population of the United States. It is a 100% count of all Americans. It includes race, Hispanics, age of head of household, age of children, presence of older relatives, composition of the family, family size, rent vs. own, etc., with the same 2000 geographic boundaries that were used in the 2000 Long Form (SF3) including: Nation, State, County, Tract, Block Group, MCD/CCD, Place, Congressional divisions and Zip (ZCTA), MSA, CMSA, PMSA, and Native Lands. And it can run a radius from a Latitude/Longitude coordinate.
There is a two concurrent user limit.
Abbreviation: geolyt
Vendor: GeoLytics
Subjects: Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development provides access to publications (reports, research papers, policy papers, briefs, and datasets) and is a knowledge hub for regional and global engagement and best practices in public policy.
Tutorials:
User Guide
Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development
Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. Create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with ours.
Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PolicyMap.
Abbreviation: pcmap
Vendor: PolicyMap
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Explore a curated collection of United States statistics in Sage Data. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects—business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.
Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Contains data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material on the American voter and demographics, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, governorships, and more.
Abbreviation: cqvec
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Coverage: 1789–Current
Subjects: Economics, History, Political Science
Type: Biographies, Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706