Research Guides: MAN 3600: Multinational Business Operations: Country Resources

Databases

GlobalEDGE Web Portal
This website offers original information as well as links to trusted sites. Comprehensive in scope, it also contains excellent country information. Click "Country Insights" and choose your country by region.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Country Information

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Maps tab includes maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Abbreviation: ciawfb
Vendor: Central Intelligence Agency
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, Political Science
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications
LatinNews Country Database
The first ever LatinNews report, published in April 1967, began with the words: "There is something going on in Bolivia, but it is not what is being reported in the press." The same imperative to uncover the real underlying facts has been the driving force behind LatinNews reporting and analysis for more than 50 years, and week-after-week, year-after-year, LatinNews has delivered invaluable insights based on unrivalled access at the highest level.
FSU has access to the following:
- Latin American Weekly Report: a considered, behind-the-scenes briefing on all the week’s key developments throughout Latin America & the Caribbean.
- Latin American Regional Reports: monthly reports consolidating the coverage from our primary publications into the four main regions of Latin America, namely: Mexico, Caribbean & Central America, Andean Group, and Brazil & Southern Cone.
- The LatinNews Country Database: an archive of all published articles, gathered on a country-by-country basis.
Abbreviation: lncd
Vendor: Intelligence Research Ltd.
Subjects: Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Type: Reports
World Development Indicators
World Development Indicators contains statistical figures from the World Bank, including almost 600 development indicators going back to 1960 for over 200 countries and eighteen country groups include social, economic, financial, and more.
Abbreviation: wdi
Vendor: The World Bank Group
Coverage: 1960–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Business, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Historical / Primary Sources, Open Access

ITA Research Portal
For specific country data, click on "Market Research" on the bottom of the page. At the search screen, you will need to use the drop down menus to find the particular country/region in which you are interested. Will lead
you to:
• Country Commercial Guides
• Industry Overviews
• Market Updates
• Best Markets
• Industry/Regional Reports
• Tariffs and Import Fees
UN Statistical Yearbook
The Statistical Yearbook provides in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period.