Research Guides: Social Sciences Data & Statistics Resources: Topic: Politics & Elections

Find more data at FollowTheMoney

Elections

Databases
Special Reports

CQ Researcher

This database combines many of CQ's most well-known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.

Tutorials:
Overview (04:03)

Abbreviation: cq
Vendor: Sage Publishing
Coverage: 1923–Current
Subjects: Communication, Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health
Type: Directories, Government Publications, Reports
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.

Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
iPOLL Databank (Roper Center)

IPOLL, from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, is a full-text database of over 900,000 questions from national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. iPOLL includes survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal, and many more. Many data sets are available for download in ASCII or SPSS format.

Tutorials:
iPOLL Quick Guide (pdf)
Introduction to New Roper iPoll (02:01)
Conducting a Search in Roper iPoll (04:59)

Abbreviation: ipoll
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1935–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

American Presidency Project
The goal of the American Presidency Project is to be recognized as the authoritative, non-partisan on-line source for presidential public documents. By providing easy access to useful information, it seeks to promote a more informed citizenry of the United States, high quality scholarly and media analysis, and a better understanding of American democracy throughout the world.
CQ Press on Sage Knowledge
This database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
Follow the Money
Follow the Money is a site that allows you to access data on the money relating to elections.
MIT Election Lab
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Election Data Science Lab is a clearinghouse for datasets that can fuel studies on elections and how they're conducted.