Research Guides: Social Sciences Data & Statistics Resources: Topic: Labor & Employment

Create more visualizations at Burea of Labor Statistics

Recommended Sources

Databases
Web Resources

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.

Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Sage Data

Explore a curated collection of United States statistics in Sage Data. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects—business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.

Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit)
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.

Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

Bureau of Labor Statistics
This link directs to databases, tables, and calculators by subject from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It contains valuable data and maps related to labor and economic development.
ILOSTAT
Provides users with comprehensive international data across a wide range of labor-related topics. This date is provided through The International Labour Organization (ILO), which is a specialized agency of the United Nation.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States.
State of Working America
A digital library that provides researchers, media, and the public with easily accessible, up-to-date, and comprehensive historical data on the American labor force