Research Guides: IDS 2104 Foundation of Research and Inquiry: Library Basics

Getting Started at FSU Libraries

Getting Started at FSU Libraries Guide: "This guide will introduce you to FSU Libraries' resources and services, and provide useful information about how to perform research in a university environment."

Online Resources

OneSearch

Discover resources with FSU Libraries' one-stop search tool: search using natural language for articles, books, streaming video, databases and more. This tool searches our local FSU collections as well as our online resources. View these brief online tutorials to search for peer-reviewed articles and advanced searching.

When the resource you need is not available:

UBorrow: For print books not available to borrow from the library whether they are not found, already checked out or lost, etc. Use OneSearch and "Statewide Catalog" to find your book from one of the state universities in Florida or if are searching for a book in OneSearch, click on the UBorrow tab.

Interlibrary Loan:

Interlibrary Loan is a Library-to-Library lending/borrowing service. If you cannot find something in OneSearch or using UBorrow, try searching the expanded Resource Sharing catalog. Set up what is called a "ILLiad" account when you first log in.

In OneSearch turn on "Expand my results," or click on "request through Interlibrary loan":

At the top of the OneSearch screen you will see an ILL Request option:

Other resources that are good starting points

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: ascomplete
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1987–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, Hospitality
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to provide a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Using the link within Google Scholar, you may also link to resources that FSU owns. For more information, visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs