Research Guides: ENT4127: Entrepreneurial Strategy: Industry Research

Introduction

An industry is a group of enterprises primarily engaged in the same kind of economic activity regardless of their types of ownership. So, companies and enterprises roll up into industries and industries roll up into sectors, which are larger parts of the economy.

Additional suggestions for research can be found in the Industry Research guide.

Databases

IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld covers over 700 industries in the United States. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends, production performance and 5 year forecasts. Includes global Company Reports & Business Environment factors. Reports include analysis of industry drivers, risk, market data and segments, competitors, and industry performance.
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
Find business, company and financial reports, plus investment, stock and mutual fund research. “Industry Surveys” tab gives detailed information on broad industry/sector coverage. Each report comes with a Porter’s Five Forces and “How to Analyze a Company in this Industry” section.
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
Factiva (20 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
"Companies/Markets" search tab allows easy consolidation of information. Covers a wide range of data as well as newspapers and trade journals. Great for topical research.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research is a market research company providing industry reports for business categories such as biotech, chemicals, energy, engineering, environment, food and beverage, fuels cell and battery technologies healthcare, information technology, instrumentation and sensors, manufacturing, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, pharmaceuticals, plastics, safety and security, and semiconductor manufacturing.Good for understanding integration of IT in a industry.
Tutorials:
BCC Research YouTube Channel

Abbreviation: bccr
Vendor: BCC Research LLC
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Gartner Higher Education Reference This link opens in a new window
Gartner Higher Education Reference provides unlimited access to a knowledge base of IT research and technology news, products, and trends to support your research and business projects. Reports focused solely on IT integration into industries.
Abbreviation: gtnr
Vendor: Gartner
Subjects: Business, Information Technology, MIS: Management Information Systems
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Journal Collections, Testing / Tutorials