Research Guides: Recreation and Tourism: Local, State, and National Resources

Industry Websites

This section features key industry websites relevant to Recreation and Tourism across local, state, and national levels. You'll find links to resources such as the Leon County and Tallahassee park systems, Florida State Parks, and national organizations like the National Park Service. These sites offer valuable insights into park management, programming, and public engagement, supporting both academic research and professional development.

Local Resources

These local resources provide information on parks and recreational services in Tallahassee, Leon County, and even FSU's campus. Use them to explore park locations, amenities and programming located nearby.

FSU Campus Recreation
Campus Recreation at Florida State University offers a living laboratory for students studying recreation, tourism, and wellness. Its diverse programs provide real-world examples of program design, facility management, and community engagement.
Leon County Park Index
Browse a comprehensive list of parks managed by Leon County, including details on amenities, locations, and recreational offerings. This index is useful for exploring local outdoor spaces and understanding county-level park planning.
Leon County Parks and Recreation Department
Learn about Leon County’s approach to park stewardship, programming, and community engagement. This site provides insight into how local government supports recreation and environmental sustainability.
Tallahassee-Leon County GIS GeoData Hub
Explore interactive maps and public data related to parks, trails, land use, and environmental features. This portal is useful for spatial analysis and understanding how recreation is distributed across the region.
Tallahassee Parks and Recreation
Explore Tallahassee’s city-run parks and recreational programs, including sports leagues, events, and facility rentals. This site is a valuable resource for understanding city recreation management.
Tallahassee Parks and Trails Map
Use this interactive map to locate parks, trails, and greenways throughout Tallahassee. It’s a helpful tool for visualizing the city’s recreational infrastructure and planning site visits.
Visit Tallahassee
This is the official tourism site for Tallahassee and Leon County. It features events, attractions, travel guides, and promotional materials that highlight the region’s cultural and recreational offerings.

State Wide Resources

These statewide resources offer a broader view of Recreation and Tourism across Florida. From official park planning documents and professional associations to tourism data and educational initiatives, these sites provide valuable context for understanding how recreation is supported, studied, and promoted at the state level.

Division of Recreation and Parks Programs
This page provides an overview of the various programs managed by Florida State Parks, including outdoor recreation, environmental education, volunteer opportunities, and conservation initiatives. It’s a useful resource for understanding how the state supports public engagement and stewardship across its park system.
Florida Disabled Outdoors Association
The Florida Disabled Outdoors Association (FDOA) promotes inclusive recreation opportunities for people of all abilities. Their programs support adaptive sports, outdoor activities, and community engagement across Florida, making this a valuable resource for exploring accessibility in recreation and tourism.
Florida Outdoor Recreation Inventory
The Florida Outdoor Recreation Inventory (FORI) is a statewide database of public outdoor recreation sites, managed by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection. It includes detailed information on parks, trails, beaches, and other recreational facilities.
Florida Recreation and Park Association (FRPA)
FRPA is the professional organization for parks and recreation professionals in Florida. It offers training, advocacy, and networking opportunities for those working in the field.
Florida State Parks - Learn
This section of the Florida State Parks website features educational blog posts that explore the natural, historical, and cultural significance of Florida’s parks. It’s a great resource for learning about conservation efforts, park history, and environmental education initiatives across the state.
Florida State Parks – Research and Collecting
Learn how researchers can engage with Florida’s state parks through fieldwork and data collection. This page outlines permitting processes and research guidelines for people seeking to do research in Florida's state parks.
SCORP: Outdoor Recreation in Florida
SCORP is Florida’s official outdoor recreation planning document, updated every five years. It includes data on recreation demand, economic impact, and strategic goals for public land use and access.
Visit Florida
Explore Florida’s official tourism website, which showcases destinations, events, and travel planning tools. Useful for studying how the state promotes recreation and tourism to the public.
Visit Florida – Research Portal
Access tourism data, market research, and economic impact reports from Florida’s official tourism marketing organization. Ideal for understanding travel trends and visitor demographics.

National Resources

National resources offer information and data on recreation and tourism across the United States. These websites represent federal agencies and nonprofit organizations that manage public lands, conduct research, and support community development. They are valuable for exploring national trends, accessing datasets, and understanding the policies and programs that shape recreation at a national scale.

National Park Service
The National Park Service provides extensive information on parks, monuments, and protected areas across the U.S., including visitor services, conservation efforts, and recreational programming.
National Recreation and Park Association
The NRPA is a leading nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing parks, recreation, and environmental conservation efforts across the United States. It provides research, advocacy, professional development, and grant opportunities to support healthy, equitable, and sustainable communities through public spaces.
Project for Public Spaces
A nonprofit organization focused on placemaking and community engagement, PPS provides tools and case studies for designing inclusive and vibrant public spaces.
Recreation Information Database
A centralized platform for discovering and reserving federal recreation sites, RIDB includes data on campgrounds, trails, and facilities managed by multiple agencies.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
A resource for publications and data related to wildlife conservation, habitat management, and outdoor recreation on federal lands.
USDA Forest Service Research
This site offers access to scientific research on forest ecosystems, recreation use, and land management practices that inform sustainable outdoor experiences.