This selection highlights current titles that support research and practice in Recreation and Tourism. These books cover core concepts, emerging trends, and interdisciplinary perspectives to help students and researchers deepen their understanding of the field.
Community Leisure and Recreation Planning
by
Community Leisure and Recreation Planning offers an up-to-date, evidence-based approach to planning community leisure and recreation facilities, programs and services. It introduces readers to key theory and best practice in the planning of effective leisure and recreation projects. The book defines planning, leisure, recreation and other key concepts and explains why a thorough planning process is essential to achieving effective outcomes. It presents a comprehensive, integrative four phase model for undertaking leisure and recreation planning, including: pre-planning, planning research, preparing a plan, and implementing, monitoring and evaluating the outputs and outcomes of a plan. It provides a conceptual rationale for each component of the planning process, a detailed explanation of the tools and techniques that can be used, and extensive examples and international case study materials to demonstrate their use. The principles and techniques explained in the book are applicable at a range of community levels from small individual sites to regions, states and even countries. This is an essential course text for all leisure and recreation courses, and invaluable reading for academics, practitioners, stakeholders and students working in leisure and recreation planning, events, culture and sport.
Generation Z Marketing and Management in Tourism and Hospitality
by
Generation Z (Gen Z) is the demographic cohort also known as Post-Millennials, the iGeneration or the Homeland Generation. Referring to individuals born roughly between the mid-1990s and the early 2000s, they are our youngest consumers, students, colleagues, and voters. Understanding them is a key aspect. In the context of the hospitality and tourism, Gen Z-ers represent the future in human resources, and service production and consumption. This book focuses on the aspirations, expectations, preferences and behaviours related to individuals within this demographic. It critically discusses their dynamism in driving the tourism sector and offers insights into the roles that Gen Z will inhabit as visitors, guests, consumers, employees, and entrepreneurs. This book is a valuable resource for managers, scholars and students interested in acquiring concrete knowledge on how Gen Z will shape the marketing and management of tourism-related services.
Handbook of Research on Social Media Applications for the Tourism and Hospitality Sector
by
Tourists frequently rely on social networks to provide information about a product or destination as a decision support tool to make adequate decisions in the process of planning a trip. In this digital environment, tourists share their travel experiences, impressions, emotions, special moments, and opinions about an assortment of tourist services like hotels, restaurants, airlines, and car rental services, all of which contribute to the online reputation of a tourist destination. The Handbook of Research on Social Media Applications for the Tourism and Hospitality Sector is a fundamental reference source that provides vital theoretical frameworks and the latest innovative empirical research findings of online social media in the tourism industry. While highlighting topics such as e-business, mobile marketing, and smart tourism, this publication explores user-generated content and the methods of mobile strategies. This book is ideally designed for tour developers, travel agents, restaurateurs, hotel management, tour directors, entrepreneurs, social media analysts, managers, industry professionals, academicians, researchers, and students.
Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society
by
Celebrating 50 Years of the Hallmark Text in Recreation and Leisure Studies! Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society provides a detailed introduction to the history, developments, and current trends in leisure studies. The Twelfth Edition focuses on the challenges and opportunities impacting the profession--including dramatic demographic changes, new technologies, and innovations in marketing--through an array of pedagogical features, including engaging sidebars and case studies addressing contemporary issues. Focusing on ten different types of organizations--ranging from nonprofit community organizations and armed forces recreation to sports management and travel and tourism sponsors--the Twelfth Edition is an invaluable resource for students considering a career in the recreation and leisure industry. Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage access with interactive eBook, practice activities, and assessments. Instructor resource include quizzes, midterm and final exam, slides in PowerPoint format, instructor manual, syllabus, and additional cases. Written for the freshman or sophomore undergraduate course in Recreation and Leisure studies.
Outdoor Recreation :Physiological and Psychological Effects on Health
by
Outdoor recreation refers to recreation/activity executed outdoors, most commonly in natural settings. At least in many high-income countries, outdoor recreation is by many considered as an attractive activity during spare time or holidays. People actively seek out activities such as walking in the mountains, climbing, hunting, horseback riding, skiing, etc., which are very often difficult to accommodate in ordinary working days. Some people find outdoor recreation attractive to the extent that they take several months or a year off from work in order to spend time in nature. Outdoor recreation stimulates a healthy lifestyle and increases public health, and it is important to develop outdoor activity habits from early childhood, a habit that should last for an entire lifetime. This book will take you through the definitions of outdoor recreation and different types of recreation. Furthermore, the book will also give you a snapshot of the physiological and psychological effects of outdoor recreation and why outdoor recreation is important for development in children and adolescents, and for adults and the older population, in addition to descriptions of some of the major and maybe the most used outdoor activities.
The Palgrave International Handbook of Women and Outdoor Learning
by
This Handbook serves as a starting point for critical analysis and discourse about the status of women in outdoor learning environments (OLEs). Women choose to participate actively in outdoors careers, many believing the profession is a level playing field and that it offers alternatives to traditional sporting activities. They enter outdoor learning primarily on the strength of their enthusiasm for leading and teaching in natural environments and assume the field is inclusive, rewarding excellence regardless of age, gender, socioeconomic status, disability, or ethnicity. However, both research and collective experiences in OLEs suggest that many women feel invisible, relegated, marginalized, and undervalued. In response to this marginalization, this Handbook celebrates the richness of knowledge and practices of women practitioners in OLEs. Women scholars and practitioners from numerous fields, such as experiential outdoor education, adventure education, adventure therapy, and gender studies, explore the implications of their research and practice using poignant examples within their own disciplines. These insights emerge from similar life experiences as women and outdoor leaders in the 1970s to the present. Social inequalities still abound in OLEs, and the Handbook ensures that the contributions of women are highlighted as well as the work that needs to be done to make these spaces inclusive. Global in perspective and capacious in content, this one-stop volume is an indispensable reference resource for a diverse range of academics, including students and researchers in the fields of education, psychology, sociology, gender studies, geography, and environment studies, as well as the many outdoors fields.
Parks and Recreation System Planning
by
Parks and recreation systems have evolved in remarkable ways over the past two decades. No longer just playgrounds and ballfields, parks and open spaces have become recognized as essential green infrastructure with the potential to contribute to community resiliency and sustainability. To capitalize on this potential, the parks and recreation system planning process must evolve as well. In Parks and Recreation System Planning, David Barth provides a new, step-by-step approach to creating parks systems that generate greater economic, social, and environmental benefits. Barth first advocates that parks and recreation systems should no longer be regarded as isolated facilities, but as elements of an integrated public realm. Each space should be designed to generate multiple community benefits. Next, he presents a new approach for parks and recreation planning that is integrated into community-wide issues. Chapters outline each step--evaluating existing systems, implementing a carefully crafted plan, and more--necessary for creating a successful, adaptable system. Throughout the book, he describes initiatives that are creating more resilient, sustainable, and engaging parks and recreation facilities, drawing from his experience consulting in more than 100 communities across the U.S. Parks and Recreation System Planning meets the critical need to provide an up-to-date, comprehensive approach for planning parks and recreation systems across the country. This is essential reading for every parks and recreation professional, design professional, and public official who wants their community to thrive.
The Role of Artificial Intelligence in the Tourism and Hospitality Sector
by
This timely, expert-led book brings together the latest academic and practitioner insights on AI technology within the hospitality and tourism industries. The disruptive nature of AI is captured in a logically structured and accessible way, with global case studies covering the latest technological developments in AI via a wide range of detailed, 'real-world' examples designed to help the reader understand how this complex subject area is applied in industry. Topics covered include privacy concerns, AI in hotels, personalisation of the guest experience, travel planning, virtual assistants and recommendation systems, sustainability, blockchain, AR, VR, IoT, smart destinations and big data analytics, amongst others. Chapters also include insights on governmental policies, environmental sustainability, social change, and how these impact and interact with AI technologies within the context of tourism and hospitality. This volume is of pivotal interest to students, scholars and academics in the fields of tourism, hospitality, business, management, human geography, social sciences and sustainability, as well as those with an interest in AI technology more generally.
Routledge Handbook of Sport and the Environment
by
The natural environment is a central issue in both academic and wider societal discourse. The global sport industry is not immune from this discussion and has to confront its responsibility to reduce its impact on the natural environment. This book goes further than any other in surveying both the challenges and the opportunities presented to the sports industry as it engages with the sustainability agenda, exploring the various ways in which sport scholars can integrate sustainability into their research. With a multidisciplinary sweep, including management, sociology, law, events, and ethics, this is a ground-breaking book in the study of sport. Drawing on cutting-edge research, it includes over thirty chapters covering all the most important themes in contemporary sport studies such as: climate change, sustainability, and corporate social responsibility ethics, governance, and the law event management, tourism, and pollution marketing, branding, and consumer behavior the Olympics, urban development, and mega-event legacies. With contributions from world-leading researchers and practitioners from around the globe, this is the most comprehensive book ever published on sport and the environment. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
The SAGE Handbook of Tourism Management
by
The SAGE Handbook of Tourism Management is a critical, state-of-the-art and authoritative review of tourism management, written by leading international thinkers and academics in the field. With a strong focus on theories, concepts and disciplinary approaches to tourism studies, the chapters in this volume are framed as critical synoptic pieces covering key developments, current issues and debates, and emerging trends and future considerations for the field. Part One: Researching TourismPart Two: Social AnalysisPart Three: Economic AnalysisPart Four: Technological AnalysisPart Five: Environmental AnalysisPart Six: Political Analysis This handbook offers a fresh, contemporary and definitive look at tourism management, making it an essential resource for academics, researchers and students.
Why Public Space Matters
by
Drawing from decades of research, Setha Low shows how public space contributes to a flourishing society through promoting social justice and democratic practices. Thriving public spaces also enhance creativity, health, urban resilience, and environmental sustainability. Yet more than ever, public spaces across the world are threatened by urban development, privatization and neglect. Public spaces -- where people from all walks of life play, work, meet, talk, read, think, debate, and protest -- are vital to a healthy civic life. And, as the eminent scholar of public space Setha Low argues in Why Public Space Matters, even fleeting moments of visibility and encounter in these spaces tend to foster a broader worldview and our willingness to accept difference. Such experiences also enhance flexible thinking, problem solving, creativity, and inclusiveness. There are many such spaces, but they all enhance social life. Sidewalks and plazas offer business opportunities for small-scale entrepreneurs who cannot afford store space. Public parks have long provided major cultural attractions, from plays to concerts, at little or no cost to the public. Central squares have a storied tradition as arenas for demonstrations and political protests. Parks and waterways create sustainable greenways, and during disasters, all manner of public spaces become centers for food delivery and shelter. To illustrate their value, Low draws from decades of research in public spaces across the Americas, from New York to Costa Rica. Yet we are losing public spaces to accelerated urban development and the belief that public spaces are expendable. Just as important is the broad-scale and ongoing privatization of public space by corporate actors. Low explores why public spaces matter today, how they are at risk, and what we can do about protecting these essential places that support our everyday lives. Finally, she shows how we can work to promote public space protection and expansion at both the grassroots and global levels. Throughout, she focuses on real public spaces and the people who use them in cities and regions across the Americas, from New Jersey to Costa Rica. A powerful, defining statement on a foundational contributor to healthy civic life, Low's book not only details what we are at risk of losing, but shows us how we can not only stop the losses, but work to expand the number of spaces available to the public.
Use the search bar below to explore books available through FSU Libraries using OneSearch. Clicking the search button will open a new page where you can browse print and digital titles based off your search terms. The video tutorial shows how to search for books effectively, filter results, and access materials.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706