Research Guides: Mathematics: Start Your Research HERE

Video help for finding information

FSU Libraries YouTube channel

Start here

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature. Over 1700 current serials and journals reviewed in whole or in part may be viewed in PDF format.
Abbreviation: mathscinet
Vendor: AMS American Mathematical Society
Coverage: 1900–Current
Subjects: Mathematics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.
Abbreviation: arxiv
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1991–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Finance, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics
Type: E-Journal Collections, Open Access
SIAM Journals This link opens in a new window
SIAM has a comprehensive publishing program in applied and computational mathematics. In addition to SIAM News, SIAM Review, and Theory of Probability and Its Applications, SIAM publishes ten peer-reviewed research journals.
Abbreviation: siam
Vendor: SIAM
Subjects: Computer Science, Mathematics
Type: Citation Management, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) indexes and provides access to a diverse collection of peer-reviewed open access scholarly research journals from around the world.
Abbreviation: doaj
Vendor: DOAJ
Coverage: 2003–Current
Type: Directories, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.
Abbreviation: arxiv
Vendor: Cornell University
Coverage: 1991–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Finance, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics
Type: E-Journal Collections, Open Access

Academic Liaison

Nathanael Gay

(he/him/his)

Email Me

Google Scholar

Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar uses Google's search engine to provide a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Using the link within Google Scholar, you may also link to resources that FSU owns. For more information, visit our Google Scholar LibGuide.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs