Research Guides: Art Therapy: Find Articles

Find Articles

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: artbibmod
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Abbreviation: artind
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1929–1984
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective) This link opens in a new window
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907–1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Abbreviation: humanities
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1907–1984
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxfords acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Abbreviation: grove-art
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Biographies, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Indexes / Catalogs
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Abbreviation: ees
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a research database for education students, professionals and policymakers. It includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education.
Abbreviation: eduidx
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (changing to CINAHL Ultimate) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
This database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927–2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
Abbreviation: cdandas
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Abbreviation: health-psych
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Subject coverage:
Community and mental health services
Crisis intervention
The family and social welfare
Gerontology
Poverty and homelessness
Professional issues in social work
Social services in addiction
Social work education
Social work practice
Violence, abuse, neglect

Abbreviation: socserabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, E-Journal Collections, Human Development & Family Science, Indexes & Catalogs, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Citation Management, Dissertations / Theses, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

These are just some of the important Arts journals we have subscriptions to at FSU. While most journals are available online many print titles in the visual arts are not, but they remain equally important resources. Check the Libraries' catalog for complete access and holdings information.

Research tip: when looking for a specific journal you can search by its ISSN, rather than its title. Like a book's ISBN, journals have an 8 digit ISSN that uniquely identifies them (example: The Arts in Psychotherapy is 0873-5878).

Access instructions for Google Scholar for FSU patrons:

Go to http://scholar.google.com
Click on the upper left menu icon and select "settings"
Click on "library links" on left side bar
Type "Florida State University" into the search box and search
Mark the check box for "Florida State University - Find It @ FSU"
Click "save"

For more on Google Scholar, see the FSU Libraries Google Scholar Research Guide.