Research Guides: *Communication &amp; Media Studies: The Portal: Films & Documentaries

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Tutorials:
Browsing Channels (3:20 minutes)
Clip Making (1:53 minutes)
Searching and Filtering (1:50 minutes)
Scrolling and Searchable Transcripts (1:13 minutes)

Abbreviation: asavon
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Type: Streaming Video
Alexander Street Theatre This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: nato
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Indexes / Catalogs, Music Scores, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: fod
Vendor: Films Media Group
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Streaming Video
Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: fodhm
Vendor: Films Media Group
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing
Type: Streaming Video
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: kanopy
Vendor: Kanopy
Subjects: Film Studies
Type: Streaming Video
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Abbreviation: lgbttc
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Subjects: Communication, History, Literature, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Biographies, Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Swank This link opens in a new window
- Paramount
- Universal
- Sony
- Lionsgate
- Warner Bros
Swank Digital Campus specializes in providing movie and TV content for academic use to colleges all across the country.

Abbreviation: swank
Vendor: Swank Motion Pictures
Type: Streaming Video
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Note: Due to copyright considerations, not all VTNA records include online streaming video content. FSU does not have access to the video loan service. Registering for a personal account does not enable additional access.

Abbreviation: vantna
Vendor: Vanderbilt University
Coverage: 1968–Current
Subjects: Communication
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Streaming Video

VHS/DVD

The multimedia collection at Strozier Library consists of thousands of VHS and DVD titles across a wide variety of disciplines. Faculty may borrow these items for a 3-day loan period or designate them for course reserves each semester. Students may watch any of these titles in-house, at a viewing station on the Lower Level (see Circulation Desk staff on the main floor to get set up.)

To find VHS/DVD, begin with the OneSearch advanced search.
On the right side of the advanced search area, choose "Video/Film" under the "Material Type" drop-down menu.
The default search results include all formats of video and film, including VHS, DVD, and streaming. You can limit to physical media (VHS and DVDs) by using the left side filters: under "Availability" select "Available On Shelf" and under "Library" select "FSU STROZIER, Multimedia Ctr."
Click a result and you will find the location call number in the "Get It" section.

For more information about accessing films in any format at FSU, see the FSU Libraries Research Guide for Film.